Some News …


Anyone who has gone hunting for Darkness & Light at online retailers very recently may have noticed that it’s not there anymore. This isn’t a glitch. It isn’t there.

However, there is a good reason for this.

You see, my contract for Darkness & Light has just expired, which left me with a choice: renew my contract … or cancel and self-publish.

To be honest, when I first started out in the publishing world, I knew even then that I was intrigued by this self-publishing malarkey. But at the time, I had neither the balls nor the experience to make it happen—and J. Taylor Publishing enabled me to put my title(s) out there without me having to take so many personal risks.

Now, after three years of my books being out there in the world and building up some kind of fan base, I’m kinda ready to take the plunge.

However, as a result of the contract being terminated, Darkness & Light, as it has been sold up until now via my publisher, is no longer available. As you’ve probably established what’s already been said in here, it IS going to be available again, BUT it will be a self-published version.

So, what does this mean for the title?

Thankfully, I’m not having to change the ebook cover just yet (at least, not until I’m 100% ready, and sure of the direction I’d want to take the covers) because I have had the cover recreated (with permission—my publisher has been seriously supportive) using the same images used to create the old ebook cover. The only difference to the covers will be a slight alteration to the text.

How long will it be before the title becomes available again?

Well, I need to figure out some interior formatting and make sure I have everything perfect, which I don’t want to rush, as well as figure out how to embed the font I want to use into the cover so it will look more professional than my usual meagre efforts, so it may be as long as a few weeks. Sorry to anyone who feels this is too long, but if my name goes on it, I want to be proud of it.

Will the book still be available in print?

Okay, this is a more complicated question, because …

  • I don’t have the rights to the original print cover, so a new cover will need to be organised if it goes into print. THANKFULLY, the lovely person who sent me the recreated version of the ebook cover also sent me a created paperback cover for me to affix my text onto. \o/ ♥♥♥
  • It is going to take me longer, me thinks, to understand the formatting of a print book than it took to understand the formatting (which I’m still iffy on) of an ebook. And then one has to hope the cover is the right size and the text is all in the right places upon submitting it, and won’t truly know if they’ve pulled it off until the proof copy arrives (which takes a few weeks each time), whereupon if they haven’t, they then have to do it all over again.

So, YES, I fully intend for the title to be available in print again, BUT, as I said above: if my name’s going on it, I want to be proud of my efforts.

And finally, what does this mean for the rest of the series?

Well, as you know, I plan to start writing Cornered (book 5) at autumn’s end and that hasn’t changed. However, all of the books leading up to that title, excluding Darkness & Light, are still under contracts of varying terms (length of time left before ending). As each title comes to the end of its contracted term, YES, I will terminate to regain full rights, and YES, I will then return each one to the market as self-published, until all of the series’ rights have reverted back to me.

So the publisherVself-published works in the series will be staggered and a little jumbled for some time, because any Holloway Pack titles not yet written/contracted will also be self-published. I did toy with the idea of having a completely new cover created for D&L to start a new branding for the series, but I wasn’t comfortable with doing that for only one title and, as said above, I’m still undecided on where to take the branding. That being said, I won’t completely rule out the possibility of a series makeover in the future once I have all rights back.

Okay, I think that covers everything. If anyone has any questions, I’m happy to answer them. Otherwise, I hope you’ll bear with me during this transitional period and support me in the adventure I’ve been dying to set sail on.

2 thoughts on “Some News …

Comments are closed.