Soul Resurrected by Keri Lake: Exclusive Excerpt + #Giveaway


SR Blog Tour button

Sooooooooooo, I don’t often do blog tours here on my author blog (after all, that’s why I have Bookaroo-Ju), but I am so in love with Keri Lake’s Sons of Wrath series that I convinced her to let me share an extract from Soul Resurrected I abso loved.  On top of that, Keri is running an AWESOME giveaway I’ll be yelling about, and a scavenger hunt that I’m thrilled to be taking part in.

Before we go any further, though, let’s take a look at this awesome book (heh–that rhymed):

~~~~~

As Wrath’s fiercest son, Logan carries the scars of fifty years spent in the most dreaded prison of the underworld, for a sin he’d kill to keep secret. Enduring decades of gruesome torture has left Logan feared by and detached from others, until a female Alexi’s blood resurrects his soul from death and, with it, the pleasures he’s been denied for so long.

Plagued by shame of her own, Calla is drawn to the ruthless demon, Logan, whose insatiable craving for her touch rouses buried passions and, for once, leaves her feeling desired.

A dark and dangerous evil has been reawakened, however, and when Calla is drawn too close to its breeding grounds, Logan vows to summon the violence of Wrath in order to keep her safe. First, though, Calla must save him from a past riddled with deceit and corruption … but only if she can accept the chilling consequences of unearthing his vilest skeleton.

Sons of Wrath
Never gamble with vengeance …

See that pic =========>>>>

Yum, yum, yum!

As always, to add to your Goodreads, simply click the coverart.

Purchase links (and you WANT a copy of this) are below:

Amazon (Kindle) | Amazon (Print) | Barnes & Noble (Nook) | Signed Print Copy

BUT before you go anywhere, stick around for my exclusive Soul Resurrected excerpt I begged Keri to let me share. Here it is:

(Warning: contains language some may find offensive; for over 18’s only!)

~~~~~

Numbness is a bastard son’s shield.

Mine was forged the day my mother tried to rip me out of her womb with a wire hanger. Not that I remember that shit. Most kids, even demons, grow up never knowing how close they came to being nothing more than a pool of blood on the kitchen floor.

For me? It became my fucking bedtime story as a kid, told over and over again until, eventually, not even it’s horrific truth could penetrate my barriers.

A super-fucking-hero, that’s what I became every time she tried to remind me why I didn’t deserve to live. Invincible.

Not like she didn’t try to finish the job after I was born.

Nightmares—the kind that take most kids under, drown them, and spit their lifeless bodies back into reality—couldn’t reach me. Stronger, thicker, my shield hardened until gashes and bruises on the surface faded to invisible memories.

Scars.

Weaknesses, deep inside my bone, strengthened and calcified under the weight of the bullshit I was forced to carry.

Wolff’s Law.

Like a shark that cuts through the water, it’s only instinct to survive, my life became nothing more than intervals of staying alive, and all that emotional shit passed right over me.

Being untouchable gives you power. It incites fear. It keeps them out.

Flames of hell couldn’t get its long and eager claws past the steel I’d spent my entire life casting and molding. In fact, I’d come to enjoy the challenge of blades picking and scraping at my exterior with a craving to devour my insides. The world’s best attempts at sticking me with its pain and suffering thwarted by my indifference.

My shield was impenetrable. Impenetrable.

Thing about not being able to feel is, you lose that connection which separates the living from the dead. The magic of fingertips trailing over flesh disappears into the ghostly sensations of a thousand pins and needles, none distinct enough to reach deep within, to where the soul waits to be reawakened.

Resurrected.

Touch, the antithesis to numbness. Tangibility. Proof that something exists, that it’s real and has the power to affect you—to break you, if it wants, just because it can. Not just physical touch, either.

I never believed in love. Mostly because love never believed in me enough to break through my shield. Why believe in something that’s never touched you?

Fuck blind faith. That’s for preachers and old, church ladies, with their self-righteous, finger-pointing bullshit.

Love doesn’t protect a boy from cigarette burns in his flesh and the stench of innocence being robbed by wandering hands. Love isn’t the medicine that keeps a boy from puking his guts out after he’s been fed rat poison in his morning cereal. Nor does it stop a blade from breaking the skin, spilling blood, leaving another scar to fill the gaps between the hundreds already marring the body.

~~~~~

Man, I ♥ Logan. ♥ him, I say.

If that awesome excerpt has convinced you further, then here are those all important purchase links again:

Amazon (Kindle) | Amazon (Print) | Barnes & Noble (Nook) | Signed Print Copy

And NOW, here’s what you’ve been looking for if you happen to be playing in the SCAVENGER HUNT!

Throughout the tour, participating blogs will be posting a question for readers to hunt down on Keri Lake’s website.  Questions can be found throughout the site:  book pages, snippets, blog posts and glossary.  Most questions will be related to the Sons of Wrath series.  A few bloggers will have added bonus questions taken directly from Soul Avenged. 

You can visit Keri Lake’s Scavenger Hunt page by clicking on the button.  Record your answers on the Answer Sheet.  At the end of the tour, you’ll be able to submit your responses via Google Doc right on the Scavenger Hunt page.  The individual with the MOST correct responses will win a MYSTERY PRIZE, valued at $125.

Here is the question assigned to this blog:

What is J.A. Belfield’s most recently released titled?

BONUS:

What is Gavin’s drink of choice?

P.S. I believe there may be a copy of CAGED up for grabs in the Scavenger Hunt prize pack (but sssshhhh).

~~~~~

And if you just LOVE winning stuff, then there are even more chances. Because just look at what Keri has up for grabs in the Tour-Wide GIveaway

1st Prize: 

 1-$30 Amazon Gift card

1-Signed Paperback Soul Resurrected (Sons of Wrath, #2)

1-Limited Edition Print signed by Julian Christian & Keri Lake

1-Property of Logan T-Shirt

1-Soul Resurrected Tote Bag

1-Soul Resurrected Notebook & Pen set

1-Sons of Wrath Wine Glass Charm set

1-Soul Resurrected Book Mark

1-Soul Resurrected Coffee Mug

2nd Prize:

1-$20 Amazon Gift Card

1-Signed Paperback Soul Resurrected (Sons of Wrath, #2)

1-Soul Resurrected Tote

1-Soul Resurrected Notebook & Pen set

1-Soul Resurrected Purse Clip

1-Sons of Wrath Wine Glass Charm set

You can find out how to enter to win one of these awesome prize packs over at the Rafflecopter Form.

For those participating in the Scavenger Hunt:

1-MYSTERY PRIZE (valued at $125)

Good luck to you all, and cheers for stopping by.

P.S. Be sure to stop by Keri tour stop at Bookaroo-Ju on December 2nd, where there will be a coolio interview between Ms Lake and myself. 😉

~~~~~

KeriLake Author PicKeri Lake is a married mother of two living in Michigan.  She writes paranormal romance, urban fantasy and loves a good, tragic love story.  Though novels tend to be her focus, she also writes short stories and flash fiction whenever distraction manages to suck her in to the Land of Shiny Things.

When she isn’t toiling away on plots and protagonists, she enjoys reading, music and travel.  If she could create mystical powers for herself, she’d have the ability to flash to anywhere in the world.  And if she could flash to anywhere in the world at this very moment, she’d be staring at the ocean from her adirondack chair on the shores of North Carolina.

Website Twitter Facebook Pinterest Goodreads Amazon Author Page

6 thoughts on “Soul Resurrected by Keri Lake: Exclusive Excerpt + #Giveaway

  1. i can’t help to feel sorry for what logan endured but from the glimpse we got in book 1 Calla suffered a lot too so they should be able to understand each other ( but i do want to read this one and i hope we learn why he was sentenced at the first place)

    isabelle(dot)frisch(at)gmail(dot)com

  2. Great excerpt! I cant wait to read this one! He sounds like such a dark and tortured character. I know I’ll love him!
    -Amber
    goodblinknpark(AT)yahoo(DOT)com

Comments are closed.