Blue Moon Deleted Scene


For anyone who takes notice of my FB page, you might remember I mentioned about sharing some deleted scenes from Blue Moon.

Well, I decided to listen and let you have them. I’m giving you one (which is actually two).

Before I do, let me reassure you that you don’t have worry. These aren’t scenes that would show a different outcome to that which you’ve read in the published version of the book. They are simply scenes that are now hinted at having happened because we removed them to move the story along faster (for good reason–heh).

Oh, and sorry to any hopefuls, but these aren’t ‘intimate’ scenes.

p.s. these have not been professionally edited.

Okay, here goes. Remember near the beginning when Jem and Sean manage to wangle a day to themselves? Well, those scenes were originally shown … and here they are:

~~~~~

TOY STORE SCENE

‘Big’ didn’t even begin to describe the store; gigantic would have been far more fitting. In my younger years, kids were lucky if they had one of those pathetic electronic ping-pongy-tennis games for the TV. The toy store had so many consoles, it made my head hurt.

Sean unfolded his arms from around me and picked up a board game. “We should get this for us.”

“Why?” I smiled. “You hate sitting still.”

“It’s supposed to be freezing soon. It’ll be something to do indoors.”

“Baby, I can think of way more fun things to do than a board game.”

He laughed, repositioning himself at my back. “I’ll bet you can.”

Sean’s six foot three height allowed his chin to rest atop my five-seven frame. With his arms folded around my chest, his breaths warming my neck, his body heat sifting through my clothing, we hobbled our way through the mass of toys.

“What does Ben like?” asked Sean.

I shrugged. “I know he liked sports—I’ve played with them in the garden.”

“It’s too cold for outdoors. We’ll find the boys’ toys.”

As soon as we rounded the corner to the boys aisle, Sean’s arms released me. I peered at him over my shoulder, smothered a laugh at the shine in his eyes as he picked up one box, and then another. He went the whole length of the shelves, studied the action figures, the miniaturised racing tracks and scale-sized cars to accompany them, the train sets, too.

“Look at this.”

When he stuck a pointed hat on his head and waved a wand about, my laugh snorted out.

He put it back, picked up a remote control fire engine, played about with that. I watched him move from the fire engine to a trunk-sized box of bricks. “These are cool.” He stuck a few together, waved them at me. “It’s enough to make you want kids yourself, isn’t it?”

I stared at him. Had he intended it to sound as it did? He spotted my expression, put the bricks back with a frown, and disappeared round the corner.

I turned to scour the figures. Gaze falling on an unusual set, I picked them up for a closer look, hummed and harred over which to get. At Sean’s chuckle I looked back to see him whizzing back round the corner on a skateboard. He almost knocked me over with his outstretched arms, as he brought his newfound wheels to a halt.

“You’ll get us kicked out,” I said with a giggle.

“I’ve got to get one of these. Dad bought me one when I was about ten, but it was rubbish compared the ones they’ve got in here.”

“Get it then.” I smiled. “I found these for Ben. Poppy will laugh her socks off when she sees them.”

He stepped from the skateboard, took the box from me. His gaze went from the one in his hand, to the others on the shelf, before he burst out laughing. I’d found a range of werewolf action figures.

He grabbed some more. “Perfect.”

BISTRO SCENE

The bistro Sean chose for lunch held few patrons. Cosy summed up the dimmed lighting, the dark-wood panelled walls, the yellowed black and white framed photographs that adorned the generous lounge. The offered seats in an enclosed corner of the room added a romantic element to it all.

“You want some wine, Jem?”

“Just juice.” Skimming over the menu, I lowered my voice. “I don’t want to fall asleep before the hunt.”

He smiled before turning as the waitress sidled up with pad and pen in hand. Sean ordered an orange juice and lemonade, a rare sirloin. The woman wrote it all down and looked to me.

“Salmon. But can I get it with potatoes and stuff, instead of salad, please?”

She smiled. “Certainly.”

“Potatoes and stuff?” Sean chuckled when we were alone.

“Well, she seems to know what stuff is.”

His long legs stretched out beneath the table, wrapped around mine. “It’s been good, getting out for a bit.” We didn’t get anywhere near enough time to ourselves. “We should do it more often, now Dad isn’t panicking so much over backup for the two of us.”

I smiled. “Yeah, we should.”

I never complained about Nathan’s concerns about me going out alone—or Sean’s. They weren’t unfounded. Sean and I never questioned Nathan’s worries over the two of us being out together either. As the first female werewolf, bitten by Sean two centuries before, bound to be reunited by a spell my mother placed on us at the time, I—we—tended to be well known, thanks to werewolf history. If another pack saw us, figured out who we were, past experience told us their curiosity alone could bring trouble—though, I didn’t quite understand their fascination with me. Thankfully, since eliminating the pack who hoped to keep me for themselves back in August, we hadn’t come into contact with any other outside wolves.

We remained quiet for a while. Constant conversation had never been a requirement for our relationship. The waitress didn’t even speak when she brought our drinks—probably thought we were making gooey eyes at each other … which, I guessed, we were. At the arrival of our food, we broke focus only long enough to be polite before our eyes reconnected.

We watched each other a lot. I liked to watch him eat. The pronouncement of tendons in his arms with each stab of the fork, every slice of the knife. The way he studied each individual item on his plate as though what he ate next was the most important decision in the world. The satisfaction on his face as the flavours pleasured him. I imagined he got the same enjoyment from watching me, because he always did it, too.

I smiled. “Want some of my stuff?”

He reached over, speared a chunk of broccoli with his fork. It disappeared into his mouth before he attacked his chips. After ramming in enough to render him incapable of speech, he stabbed some more, stretched over to feed them to me.

He finished first, as always, smearing the last of his chips in his bloodied meat juices. As he chewed the last mouthful, he settled onto his elbows. A smile played on his lips, his eyebrow twitched. “Rabbit or badger, tonight, Jem?”

I lowered my gaze as my body gave a small shudder of excitement at the thought. “Fox.”

“You have to wait for them to begin breeding again.”

Considering my alternatives, I returned to studying him. “What would you recommend?”

“Depends how hungry you are.”

“It has nothing to do with hunger.” I shrugged. “If you like rabbit, you simply eat more.”

His smile widened. “Badger, then.”

“Why?”

“Their meat is richer. Rabbit is sweeter.”

“How can meat be sweet?”

He shrugged then smiled when I offered him my last potato.

~~~~~

Th-th-that’s all, folks!

(to clarify, Ben is Poppy’s son)

See you Friday for the first Caged #FreeviewFriday

6 thoughts on “Blue Moon Deleted Scene

  1. I LOVELOVELOVE the toystore chapter! I act just like Sean when we’re at a toy store.

  2. I loved both chapters especially the toystore. Its nice to know, the waitress knew what “stuff” meant. 🙂

Comments are closed.