Caged Excerpt Time! Want a peek?


Yep, it’s that time again, when I get to share a snippet from the opening of my latest upcoming release, and it’s CAGED’s turn!!!!!!

Yippee.

I could waffle on about how equally excited and nervous I am over sharing this story with the world–mostly because it ain’t nothing like any of the Jem & Sean based stories–but instead, I’m just going to get on with and give you all what you came for. 

Below:

~~~~~

Caged-Paperback1

“… from the Shropshire area. Following Carly McDowd’s disappearance on the fourth, and Andrew Doherty’s on the seventh, this is the third incident this month …”

I turned from the square-jawed newswoman on TV to Dad, where he sat in his corner armchair.

His attention remained on the screen, a frown across his brow.

“… the duo of friends were first reported missing late last night by their parents, after they discovered neither of the teenagers …” The newscaster’s voice infiltrated once more.

Images of a couple of lads flashed side by side on the screen. The one on the left had the appearance of any late teen, with shaggy overgrown hair and the twinkle of mischief in his expression.

From the other image, brilliant blue eyes stared out at me from beneath a shock of pale blond curls.

“Oh, shit!” I pushed to my feet, took a step forward. “That’s …”

Nineteen year old Gabriel Lewis was believed by his mother to be staying at Colum Delaney’s since Friday evening, whilst Colum’s parents …”

Dad stood, his fingers retracting his mobile from his jeans pocket as I worked my own out. He paused, nodded to me. “Go on. You make the call, Ethan.”

Shelley Lewis’s number had been saved in my phone book since the beginning of the year, right after we met for the first time. I hit dial and paced to the window. September sunshine, of the early morning variety, blinded me as my phone rang.

It took only a few trills for her to answer. “Ethan?” Her voice held hope, as well as a heavy weariness and the thickness of tears.

“Is it true?” I’d promised to support her—a lone parent, a female no less, raising a werewolf son with no guidance. So far, I’d delivered on that promise.

The sob hitting my ear gave confirmation enough. “Oh, Ethan.”

“Hold tight, Shelley. I’m on my way.”

“I’ll come with you,” Dad said, as I hung up and spun to him. “Shout Sean, too—in case we need to do any scouting. I think I heard him stir upstairs.”

“What about Connor’s lot?” The Larsen’s made up the other half of our eight-wolf pack, but lived separately to us on the south side of the forest.

Dad shook his head. “I’ll update Connor whilst you deal with Sean—”

“And Jem?” I asked with a lifted eyebrow.

Dad’s lips twitched, but he continued as though he hadn’t noticed my reference to his buck-passing. “Just the three of us will go. Connor and his boys can spend the morning here and stay close to Jem and your mother unless we need them.”

~~~~~

Well, whatcha think?
It’s not enough?
Well, whaddaya know? Because I’ve been given the go ahead to share the ENTIRE FIRST CHAPTER!

BUT …

It has to be earned.
And here’s how.
Simply shout about Caged in any of the following ways.

TWITTER 

Tweet about it. I’ve even give a couple examples below: you’re welcome to use them.

Love werewolves? CAGED is coming August 2013. Add it to your tbr list: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13627361-caged #HollowayPack

Ethan Holloway rocks my socks! Roawr! CAGED: coming August 2013: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13627361-caged #HollowayPack

Do you wanna be CAGED with Ethan Holloway? Yeah, baby! Add it on Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13627361-caged #HollowayPack

Get the gist? Please note: Tweeting this blog post, whilst massively appreciated, does not count. It’s gotta be a link to Caged’s Goodreads page. Let’s see if we can get it on more to-read shelves.

FACEBOOK

If you want to go for the simplest route, you can merely share the link to the book’s page: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13627361-caged It can be on a personal profile, or on your page, in a group–whichever suits you. You could also add a little comment alongside the link, if you so desired.

ON YOUR BLOG

Waiting on Wednesday posts are the bees knees. LOVE them. Love how other bloggers hop around visiting each other, commenting on these posts. They are a FANTASTIC way for folk to discover new books. So, if you have Caged on your to-read list and you’re looking forward to it, something like a WOW post for Caged would be freakin’ awesome.

And if you’ve already posted about Caged in a WOW, then (thank you so much), you’re welcome to use that link for your entry.

AND THEN …

All’s you have to do is fill in the following form and ALL. WILL. BE. REVEALED.

Thanks heaps for all the support. It means a LOT!

I hope you enjoy.

6 thoughts on “Caged Excerpt Time! Want a peek?

Comments are closed.