Please Take a Moment to Read about Bridget Zinn and Poison


A few days ago, I stumbled across a link described as ‘What would you do for Poison?’, and when I clicked on the link it took me to the website of Bridget Zinn. More specifically, it too me to This Page.

Intrigued, I read what it had to say.

These were the opening lines of the post there:

Bridget Zinn’s first YA novel, Poison, is being released by Hyperion on March 12, 2013. Unfortunately, Bridget died from cancer in May 2011 at the age of 33.

If you skimmed the second sentence in there, then read again, because I pretty  much thought ‘Oh, wow’ and had to read more.

Being published was Bridget’s dream.

I can relate. Being published is pretty much the dream of every writer out there. No matter the size of their story. No matter the publication. We all just want our stories to be read.

Now, nearly four years to the day from her diagnosis, her novel is at last reaching readers. On her behalf, her friends and family want to celebrate her accomplishment and help get her book into the hands of readers.

And here lies the crux of the post. As a tribute to an author who never got to see her book being published, this authors significant others are attempting to still fulfill Bridgets’s dream.

My thought on that is: Good for them.

Because I’m pretty sure, even though she’s no longer here, this lady has every knowledge that her book has hit the world, and that she is getting to see this … somehow.

And to achieve this author’s dream, even in her absence, here is what they’re asking. Please read, and consider. Because for each singular person who helps, it’s such a small request, but can make a huge difference to those trying to make this happen.

Below:

On your blog:

During the week of March 11, blog about the release of your first novel (if you’re an author) or any other momentous first.

On Twitter:

During the week of March 11, tweet about #Poison.

Tweet a photo of you holding the book. You could also tweet a link to this web page, part of a review, or a link to your blog post. Just use the hashtag #Poison.

On Facebook:

During the week of March 11, post a picture of you holding Poison, and/or a link to her web page.

If you knew Bridget, write about her. If you didn’t, write about how a librarian helped kindle your love of reading. Or how your favorite young fantasy lit a fire in you as a reader that opened up the full world of literature.

As an author:

Consider mentioning Poison during the week of March 11.

As a librarian:

During the week of March 11, help spread the word.

Bridget was a YA librarian, first in Wisconsin, then in Oregon. Spread the word about Poison on any listservs you’re on. Post a review on Goodreads or LibraryThing. Help raise awareness and get the book into the hands of readers.

As a reader:

Please post a review—if not during the week of March 11, then as soon as you can.

And consider reposting your review from Goodreads on Powells.comAmazon.comBN.com, and wherever readers look for ideas about what books to read next.

.

There are a lot more details on Bridget’s website. You can read them HERE! Please check it out (but take tissues because I cried my eyes out).

As an author myself, I could not possibly comprehend the idea of reaching my goal of achieving a publishing contract and then not being around to share in the release.

When Darkness & Light first released in July of 2011, I don’t think I’d ever felt prouder of myself. I’d never been a business minded person. Never been very driven to be educated or have a skill or be better than I already was. Not until I discovered writing in 2009. And for the first time in my life, I was doing something I wanted–no, needed to be good at. And that need pushed me forth to seek publication. Because the need had expanded into wanting to share what I’d discovered I could do with others. So yes, seeing the launch day of your book and getting to hold something in your hands that every writer dreams of to the point they scarcely dare hope … yeah, it’s a big deal.

And for that reason, I urge you all to help Bridget’s family accomplish her dream–because I’m pretty sure she is watching from somewhere.

Here’s what Poison’s all about:

Sixteen-year-old Kyra, a highly-skilled potions master, is the only one who knows her kingdom is on the verge of destruction—which means she’s the only one who can save it. Faced with no other choice, Kyra decides to do what she does best: poison the kingdom’s future ruler, who also happens to be her former best friend.

But, for the first time ever, her poisoned dart…misses.

Now a fugitive instead of a hero, Kyra is caught in a game of hide-and-seek with the king’s army and her potioner ex-boyfriend, Hal. At least she’s not alone. She’s armed with her vital potions, a too-cute pig, and Fred, the charming adventurer she can’t stop thinking about. Kyra is determined to get herself a second chance (at murder), but will she be able to find and defeat the princess before Hal and the army find her?

Kyra is not your typical murderer, and she’s certainly no damsel-in-distress—she’s the lovable and quick-witted hero of this romantic novel that has all the right ingredients to make teen girls swoon.

Goodreads | Amazon |  Barnes & Noble | Book Depository

Cheers for taking the time to read.

6 thoughts on “Please Take a Moment to Read about Bridget Zinn and Poison

  1. Thank you so much for being a part of the blog tour for POISON and for your wonderful post. The community support of her work means so much to me and to Bridget’s family. Thank you for helping POISON reach new readers.
    Best,
    Barrett Dowell
    (Bridget’s husband)

    1. Thank you so much for taking the time to drop in, Barrett. It was my absolutel pleasure to help spread the word.
      All the best to you and your family.

Comments are closed.