Blog Tour: An Interview with Reaper’s L.S. Murphy :D


Reaper-Blog-Tour-ButtonHere I am on my stop for the Reaper Blog Tour, and man, do I have a treat for you.

She’s as quirky as Quincy, as witty as … well, me (ha!), and a whole lotta fun to stalk.

Yep, that’s right, my guest for today iiiiiiiisssssssssssssss

L.S. Murphy: Author of YA novel Reaper.

*Cue the clackers*

Howdy, LS. Lovely to have you here on my blog. Now I’ve read Reaper, so I already know what it’s about, but how about doing a quick tagline for my visitors who haven’t?

Thanks for having me. 🙂

Reaper is the story of sixteen-year-old Quincy Amarante who discovers her destiny is to become a grim reaper, and she’s not exactly happy about this.

Yup, that about sums it up in a nutshell.

As mentioned above, Quincy is a pretty quirky character. Did you base her on anyone you know? Or was she plucked straight from the wisps of your mind?

Quin sprung from the depths of my imagination, but some of her more witchy attributes are accumulative of things I saw/witnessed/was the brunt of during my own high school days.

Yeah, love those high school kids, eh?

How about Ben? He’s a cutesy, for sure. Base him on a childhood crush, mebbe?

More like he’s based on my adult crush on Billie Joe Armstrong from Green Day.  *sigh*

Hehehe, cute.

So what else can we expect from you in the future? You’ve recently had an adult contemp romance published: A Reason to Stay, but will you be wowing us with more YA fun?

*crosses fingers* I have quite a few things going on. In June I signed with an amazing literary agent , Julia Weber of J. A. Weber Literaturagenturwith a YA contemp about seventeen-year-old Victoria Hudson who joins a boys summer baseball league without her ambitious father’s knowledge. Currently I’m in the rewriting stage for another YA contemp about seventeen-year-old Piper Marks who is forced to move from the big city to a small town in Iowa where she meets a boy with a deeply buried secret. And I’m outlining something else. No rest for the wicked, right?

That’s great to hear. Good luck with the subs. 🙂

Now time for a little bit about YOU!

Anyone who reads LS’s Tweets or Blog will know who Bean is. For those who don’t, Bean is Ms Murphy’s wee girl, who comes out with even more wit than her mother. So, LS, how about sharing with us, your absolute favourite ‘Beanism’ to date?

There are too many! Okay, okay, don’t twist my arm. 🙂

1)      Bean was sitting on the counter, helping her daddy make mac-n-cheese. She pointed at his belly and asked, “Do you have a baby in there?”

2)      The hubs loves watching home movies. He put in the one from the day we brought Bean home. When he explained what was going on, she smiled and said, “And you let me stay? Thanks, Daddy.”

 Aww, too cute. 

Also, anyone who spies on the public conversations between myself and LS will have no doubt picked up on her love of all things Brit (which is possibly why she loves me—ha!). So, where did this love of the land across the pond come from? A visit … your own imagination …?

It’s the accent. I freakin’ love British accents. True story: One time at a high school marching band event, I pretended I was British. I thought I could fake a good accent. So I flirted with another drummer from a different school in my wonderfully fake accent. A few of my friends from my own drumline, as well as a few of the guys I knew from other schools, laughed at me, but this dude bought it hook, line, and sinker. After the show, as I walked in the parking lot with him, I let the fake accent slip. I turned and walked away without looking back.

LOLOLOLOL

And finally:

Steak or fish or Oh heck, no, pure veggie, baby!?

Frog legs. I’m a country girl at heart.

O_o

O_O

o_O

Cats or raccoons? What? This is L.S. Murphy. No point asking her normal stuff. O_o

Another true story: I grew up on a farm in Northeast Missouri. We had this huge cat named Sally. She was as big as a Tom and as mean as one too. One night, my mother heard a massive cat fight outside. Since we only had one cat, she had to investigate.  Naturally. Well, our old farmhouse was getting a new basement wall at that time so there was a huge hole outside the kitchen door. Mom waved around her maglight until she finally found the source of the noise. Sally sat by the new basement wall licking her paws. Beside her was a opossum. Dead. You didn’t mess with Sally.

So, cats.

Cripes. O_O

Current favourite author?

J.A. Belfield. :)

See? I told you she was cool. Ha! (psst, I’ll drop you the payment later, LS)

Aaaaaaaand favourite flavour ice-cream (very important detail for understanding a personality *nods head*)?

Oh, I am sorry to disappoint, but I like vanilla. Simple and pure. When I was a kid, my grandfather would make homemade ice cream. Always vanilla. It’s one of the few memories I have of him.

I can relate. Mr B is a total vanilla ice cream fan. 😀

Thank you soooooo much for stopping on by. Please check out L.S.’s recently released fun YA title. Here’s what I’ve been blathering on about:

There’s no way sixteen year old Quincy Amarante will become the fifth grim reaper. None. Not over her shiny blue Mustang. Her Jimmy Choos. Or her dead body.

She’s supposed to enjoy her sophomore year, not learn about some freaky future Destiny says she has no choice but to fulfill.

It doesn’t take long for Quincy to realize the only way out of the game is to play along especially since Death can find her anyway, anywhere, anytime. And does.

Like when she’s reassuring her friends she wants nothing to do with former best friend Ben Moorland, who’s returned from god-knows-where, and fails. Miserably.

Instead of maintaining her coveted popularity status, Quincy’s goes down like the Titanic.

Maybe … just maybe … that’s okay.

It seems, perhaps, becoming a grim reaper isn’t just about the dead but more about a much needed shift in Quincy’s priorities—from who she thinks she wants to be to who she really is.

You can go the Reaper’s Goodreads page by clicking on the image. Purchase links for Reaper can be found HERE!

And if you’re cool enough to stalk L.S., you can do so here: Twitter | Facebook | Blog |

Don’t forget to tell her I said ‘Hi!’

😀

210 (1)L.S. Murphy lives in the Greater St. Louis area where she watches Cardinals baseball, reads every book she can find, and weaves tales for teens and adults. When not doing all of the above, she tends to The Bean (aka her daughter), her husband and a menagerie of pets. “A Reason to Stay”, a contemporary romance novella, is available as of November 2, 2012. Reaper is her debut young adult novel and will be released on January 7th, 2013.

She is a co-rep for the Southern Illinois region of Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators (SCBWI) and a member of the St. Louis Writer’s Guild.

Digging the pink hair. 😉

6 thoughts on “Blog Tour: An Interview with Reaper’s L.S. Murphy :D

  1. Great interview, ladies! 🙂 L.S., I like witty characters. The REAPER sounds fresh and charming.

    Bean is too cute! “The hubs loves watching home movies. He put in the one from the day we brought Bean home. When he explained what was going on, she smiled and said, “And you let me stay? Thanks, Daddy.” I love this! 🙂

Comments are closed.