Be gone with you, 2012! Bring on the New Year!


First up, I’m going to start this blog post on a high note, by getting my priorities straight and wishing you all …

Happy New Year!

To be honest, I 100% toyed with the notion of simply stating that I’m looking forward to 2013, but then realised folk really wouldn’t get how MUCH I’m looking forward to this new year without a little give.

So, if you don’t want to hear about my past year, you’re welcome to step away now. But if morbid curiosity is enough to make you stick around, then here goes (but you have been warned: it ain’t all knitting and kittens).

My year of 2012 in a nutshell.

Mr B was out of work for the first 6 months of the year.

I find out, when a lady contacted me via GenesReunited, that I might have an older half sister, and DNA testing proved this closet skeleton to be well and truly rattling. Whilst I am over the moon to have gained this lovely lady into my family, as we happen to get on really well, it has certainly caused ruptions and fallings out with other family members, which has resulted in my feelings over it all being somewhat disjointed and definitely up & down.

A suspicious mole turned out to be cancerous. Whilst the entire ordeal was hairy, from discovery to referral, to biopsy, to results confirming malignant melanoma, and a deeper & bigger cut made for safe-than-sorry reasons, I felt pretty blessed when the last letter from the Dermatologist confirmed the cancer had been completely removed and a follow up appointment garnered positive results, too. So not all bad there.

My pooch died. Normally, I’d have handled something like this pretty well. I’d have been upset, of course I would’ve. But I’d have handled it better than I actually did—which turned out to be pretty bad, as it just happened to fall right after dealing with family stuff and cancer stuff and kidlet stuff … you get the picture—and everything that was going on in my life had begun to affect my health.

We got a new pooch. 🙂 You’ve probably seen the post about Lunar. She was hard work the first few weeks she moved in, but the more that little darling has settled in, the more she has become my saviour. She keeps me company in the day. She keeps me & Mr B company at night. And if I seem to have a lot to say about her in my posts, then it’s because I feel as though I owe what sanity I have to the little creature who’s growing bigger by the day.

Of course, I also have to mention that Instinct, Eternal, Blue Moon AND Make Believe all released. However, when you have so many other things going on, sometimes it’s a little hard to keep your eye on the prize—especially when my too-full-of-other-and-emotional-stuff head lost all concentration, which resulted in me missing my self-made deadline for writing Holloway Pack 4 by around 5 months (so far, anyway—I’ve still to finish). It’s amazing how much falling behind your own goals can get a writer down. But I was happy beneath everything else about so many titles being shared this year.

Plus, despite everything throughout the year creating a roller coaster of emotions and turmoil, we did manage to draw closer to the end of the year on a higher note, with an awesome Christmas away visiting family and an entire week dedicated to My Man & the Kidlets. In fact, these three amazing peeps have majorly kept me going throughout the year. Throughout everything, in fact. Holding my hand, hugging me when required. Getting me to talk about stuff (‘cause I can be a pretty tightly closed book). Drying my tears.

Mr B: You are my Rock, dude!

So, for all the right reasons, I’m so extremely looking forward to leaving 2012 behind, and I cannot wait to see what 2013 holds. At the moment, I’m merely making a wish for good health and sanity, and plenty of smiles. 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

And, of course, for the releases of Resonance & Caged to flow smooth. 😉

How did 2012 fare for you? And what are you hoping 2013 will bring?

15 thoughts on “Be gone with you, 2012! Bring on the New Year!

  1. Aww I hope 2012 will be a better year for you!
    I am hoping 2013 will be the year my own blogs grows bigger and I really hope I can get an amazing job. 2013 will also be the year when we move to a new house, so the first two months or so might be a bit stressfull.

    1. Moving is always stressful. Hope it all goes smoothly for you. And good luck with building your blog, though I have no doubt you’ll achieve your goals. 🙂

  2. The tough year is over!! Moving on to a bigger and better one, right now! Here’s to am awesome 2013!!

  3. I always get a bit emotional on New Year’s Eve, it’s just another night, but there’s something about that switch over to a new year that makes us feel positive about change and about things getting better. Hopefully we can all retain that feeling beyond the first week of January!

    Wishing you good things in 2013 🙂

Comments are closed.