Author Love: Jennifer M. Eaton


Today is the final day for introducing you to my Make Believe buddies. So last, but by no means least, meet: Jennifer.

Hi, Jennifer. Tell us a little about your story—and how does it relate to the prompt given for the anthology theme? 

My story has everything to do with the writing prompt.  I wrote fresh from staring at that picture for two weeks.  Honestly I’d given up, as nothing was coming to me.  Then I decided to use an old writing trick of mine.  I took the girl in the picture, described her, and had her take a step.  That was all I needed.  Once she stepped into the snow, and her red silk slipper dampened in the thawing slush—I never turned back.  Emily was born, and her story simply flowed from my fingers.

How did you choose the title for the story? 

I actually wrote the last six words of the story on the first day of writing.  I am not really sure where they came from, but from those words, the title “Last Winter Red” was born.

Are you working on another title at the moment?

Can you tell us about it? Oh Yes!  I am currently working on a new novel entitled Fire in the Woods.  It is a far stretch from Last Winter Red.  “Fire” takes place in New Jersey (on the East Coast of the USA) in present day.  My heroine is a seventeen-year-old girl who meets a boy in the woods after a plane crash, and he turns her life upside down forever.  Fire in the Woods is a fast-paced explosive YA story that I can’t wait to put the final finishing touches on.

Sounds awesome. I’m really into YA at the moment.

If you could visit anywhere in the world, where would you go and why?

I would really love to go to Egypt.  I find the Pyramids and Egyptian artefacts fascinating.  At one time, it was one of my goals to climb the great pyramids.  Things as they are, though, I’ve backed down on that goal somewhat and have my eyes set on climbing the Mayan pyramids.  I just love ruins of all kinds.  I recently scampered around the ruins of Jamestown, Virginia (of Pocahontas and John Smith fame)  I just eat that stuff up! Oh, am I still answering the right question?  Sorry!

Meh, don’t worry about it. Have you ever read a book more than once? If so, what was it?

I read the first three books of Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series multiple times.  I just loved the stories immensely.  The characters, the deep plotlines… it all just drew me in.  Every time a new book came out, I’d read the preceding books just to get the story straight again.  Yes, that means that at one point I basically knew the first book by heart.  I stopped doing it after a while… because those books are REALLY LONG!

 And now for some randomness:

Plotter or panster? 

I used to be a pantser.  I wrote for the simple joy of writing and never knew where the wind would take me.  The first thing I ever outlined was Last Winter Red.  Yeah, that went pretty well for me.  The outline is now my friend.  Fire in the Woods was written from an outline, and the writing is very crisp and tight.  I don’t think I will ever write something (seriously) from the seat of my pants again.

Steak: rare or well-done—how do you like your meat?

Cook it baby!  My husband and I were out at a restaurant the other night, and he got something “pan seared”.  We didn’t realize that meant RAW INSIDE.  He said it was okay, but “got full” quickly.  We bought our meal home, and cooked it— thank you very much.  Nope, we don’t like our meat raw and wiggling.

*Snicker*

Ice cream … or fresh cream? 

What the heck is fresh cream?  I went to a farm and milked a cow once.  The milk was oaky, but it was not cold, which was a bit weird.  Let’s say Ice cream.  I’m American.  No fresh cream for us over the pond.  🙂

The bird doesn’t know what fresh cream is? O_O This is a travesty! 😐 

Coastal walks … or extreme sports?

Coastal walks.  I’m not a real extreme sports type of person, although I actually LOVE snorkelling and hiking.  Hiking can get a little extreme sometimes, and I did have a run-in with a school of squid once, but that’s a story for another day.  🙂

And finally … in no more than three sentences, tell us why we should read your story? What about it will grip us by the shirt scruffs and drag us along for the ride?

The world as we know it has ended.  Emily stumbles into the woods looking for love, and discovers a secret that will change her life forever.  You can never know how the truth will affect you, until you are forced to confront the unthinkable.

This is very true. Sounds like a great read! Let’s take a look at Jennifer’s blurb for Last Winter Red:

Emily is a Red, a woman whose sole purpose in life is to produce offspring. When her husband dies and leaves her childless, she risks her life and forsakes the safety of Terra—a disease-free city born after the nuclear holocaust. Beyond its boundaries, she knows, survives a man with whom she can be properly paired.

The Outside, though, holds secrets the government struggles to keep, and what Emily discovers on her quest for a mate will change her life forever.

Sounds very cool, eh?

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to catch up with Jennifer on Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, or her Blog, and say Hi! 

A HUGE thanks to all of you who’ve visited us this week. Don’t forget to check out all the Make Believe blog tour posts that will be happening over the next few weeks. Due to there being 6 participating authors, there are quite a few, but more stops means more chances to win an Ebook of Make Believe or other goodies are bound to arise. 🙂 🙂 🙂

11 thoughts on “Author Love: Jennifer M. Eaton

  1. Jennifer, you ran into a school of squid while hiking????? 🙂 🙂 j/k!!! Loved the interview. I love rummaging around old ruins, too, especially castles. Anything that has massive history related to it, I’m there. Oh, and I like my steaks just on the warm side of dead…and aged….a lot.

    J.A. – I’m with Jenn. I don’t have any idea what “fresh cream” is. Is that like homemade ice cream or something? Is your ice cream different than ours? I’m confuzzled. You MUST explain.

    1. Fresh cream is a natural dairy product made from milk. You can get single cream, which is for pouring. Double cream which is a little thicker and can be poured or whisked up for a thicker product. And whipping cream, which is for exactly what it sounds. Delish. We get it in the middle of eclairs and stuff over here. No sweetener, just natural. And very fattening. 😀

Comments are closed.