Author Love: Kelly Said


MASSIVE welcome to my fellow Make Believe author, Kelly.

I’m a HUGE fan of Kelly’s writing since loving her story Pearl of Pau-maa in the Tidal Whispers anthology so I’m muchero excited that she’s here on my blog.

So, Kelly, can you tell us a little about your story—and how does it relate to the prompt given for the anthology theme?

When I first saw the image of a girl in a red cloak standing in a snow coated field, I studied *every* detail. How the snow was falling, how come there were no footprints in the snow? Why was the girl out in a blizzard with bare arms, as if the weather didn’t bother her? What happened to the trees and animals? Why was she alone out in the middle of nowhere? If she was summoned there, how and why? The cover image is actually a scene in the middle of my story, so once I had those questions answered, I knew how things would start and how they would end, but it had no intrigue yet. So, when I read the publisher’s prompt of “Where illusion can’t hide all the secrets,” I knew that one of the characters in my story would be harbouring some incredibly powerful secret, perhaps using “illusions” to keep people from discovering the fact that – well now, “that’s” a discovery readers will make at the end of the story, hehe! *wink-wink!*

And I’ll bet they can’t wait to find out. 🙂 So what can you tell us about the book that the blurb doesn’t tell us? Preferably without giving the entire plot away?

Hmm, let’s see… something NOT in the blurb…. *looks up, bites lip, ponders* There’s a catfight scene, well, maybe not a “fight” per se, but rather a “skirmish.” 😉

Ooooh, very intriguing. 🙂 And how about the title for the story, how did you choose that?

I really like how the word PETRIFIED has different meanings. For instance, it can mean to benumb or paralyze someone with astonishment, horror, or other strong emotion. Or, it implies making something rigid or inert; harden; deaden. It felt to me like both meanings of the word PETRIFIED embodied a major plot element in the story. 🙂

 And now for some randomness:

 What book(s) are you reading now?

Divergent by Veronica Roth and After Dark by Emi J. Gayle

LOVED both!

Paranormal or dystopia—which do you prefer?

Can’t we have both? Hehe! Hmm, on a scale of 1-100, I’m 50.5% more paranormal preference to 49.5% dystopian. 😉

You know that’s cheating, right? Okay, how about: Werewolves or vampires (what’d you choose: hot bloodied or blood sucker)?

ah-ooooo! Werewolves! I know a couple of hot ones from The Holloway Pack stories ;D

Ha! Yeah, I’d go with weirdwolves every time. 😉

Cats or dogs?

Dogs

And finally … in no more than three sentences, tell us why we should read your story? What about it will grip us by the shirt scruffs and drag us along for the ride?

I like stories with buried secrets, secrets so huge they rumble and shake the ground until nothing can keep them from being exposed, keee-rack! ultimately shifting a person’s perspective like a tectonic plate. PETRIFIED takes readers to a place where winter has strangely devoured summer, where mysteries are the mortar binding the bricks in castle walls, and where Prince Sterling August and Lochlyn of the North are about to discover that some secrets, no matter how vehemently guarded, will surface and change them both forever.


Dum-dum-duuuuuuum! Sounds awesome! Let’s take a look at Kelly’s blurb for Petrified:

A mysterious storm has replaced summer with winter, devastating crops and smothering Castle lands in snow. Prince Sterling August stands alone as a leader, lost in personal grief as well as a desire to help his people but with an inability to do either.

The answers he needs await him, but without Lochlyn, a woman who’s just as isolated as Sterling, he’ll never see what stands before him, cloaked in illusion.

Sounds very cool, eh?

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to catch up with Kelly on Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, or her Blog, and say Hi! 

Don’t forget to call back tomorrow for a ‘chat’ with Jennifer M. Eaton. 🙂

6 thoughts on “Author Love: Kelly Said

  1. Love how the story came together in your mind – great questions to ask yourself with a pic prompt! Great intreview!!!

  2. Thank you so much for hosting me, JAB!! 😀 😀 You made my least favorite thing, talking about myself, a lot of fun! 🙂 and, omgosh, have I mentioned how exciting it is for me to be featured in an anthology with you?! total awesomeness. 😎

  3. I loved reading how you brought the picture and your story line together. I found it interesting you found your middle and worked your way outward. Interesting approach to writing. I loved the story, too. It’s one of my faves. JA, I like weirdwolves, too, and I’ll fight and snarl over Ethan any day. Thanks for the fantastic interview, ladies.

    1. LOL, yeah, I’ve been getting your love (or obsession, depending how you look at it–ha!) over Ethan loud & clear. 😀
      Thanks for stopping by, Jen.

Comments are closed.