Author Love: Lynda R. Young


MASSIVE welcome to my fellow Make Believe author, Lynda.

Having only know Lynda since she sent in a wee story and had it accepted and then signed a contract that just so happened to land her in the same antho as me, it’s been a lot of fun getting to learn more about her. And I get to share that with you.

So, Lynda, tell us a little about your story—and how does it relate to the prompt given for the anthology theme?

The red against the snow was my main inspiration, though I didn’t want to write a story with a snowy setting. I wasn’t sure how to get around that problem, but I did have a particular character in mind. I ended up just writing based on the character, and the image of blood on snow.  How I turned that image into a hot Florida setting, you’ll have to find out by reading the story.

Love how everyone saw something different in the image. How did you choose the title for the story?

Either titles come to me instantly as if predestined, or I’m doomed and I scramble around in a fluster in search of the title. In the case of Birthright, I had to do some serious brainstorming and mind mapping. I came up with titles ranging from the ridiculous to what-were-you-thinking! For a long while I thought the story would end up titleless or worse. In the end I sent the publisher a choice of two titles after they nixed the first one. I’m glad they pushed me for a better title, because this one fits the story so well. Oh, and no I’m not going to say what the other titles were. I’d like to bury them forever and pretend they didn’t exist 😉

LOL. Where did the idea for your hero come from? Is he based on anyone tangible?

There is a little of my adorable husband in my hero.  I can’t help myself. My hubby is the perfect man.

*Sigh* That’s adorable.

Have you ever read a book more than once? If so, what was it?

It’s rare for me to read a book more than once. There are too many other books I want to read. The only books I’ve read twice or more are fantasy titles: The Lord of the Rings (read four times and I often dip into it and read it from random places), The White Dragon by Anne McCaffrey (read twice), oh, and Susan Cooper’s The Dark is Rising series for children (read twice).

And now for a little randomness:

Favourite spot to write?

I love to write on the couch with warm sunlight flooding into the room. I also love to write on picnics or at the local coffee shop.

 

Coastal walks … or extreme sports?

I used to be into semi-extreme sports—paragliding, ballooning, eating chocolate (hey, the way I eat chocolate, it could be considered extreme), but I think, deep down, I’m a slow-stroll-in-a-picturesque-setting kinda girl now. It gives me time to dream up new stories.

 Chocolate eating an extreme sport. *snort* I definitely like your way of thinking.

E-book or print?

I’d definitely choose e-book because of its quick access to books, comfort to handle and carry around with me, and fabulous readability (I use a reader with the ink technology rather than one that’s backlit). However, if the book is an absolute favourite then I’ll buy the print version as well so I can flip through the pages, hold it and admire it on my shelves.

 Totally with you on that.

And finally … in no more than three sentences, tell us why we should read your story? What about it will grip us by the shirt scruffs and drag us along for the ride?  

I think you should read Birthright because it includes all the story tasties such as mystery, danger, and romance.  It’s about Christa who has been running from everything–her grief, her destiny, even herself.  When she comes to a small town in Florida and meets a stranger with an unknown agenda, she keeps running from her life when she should be running for her life. 


Destiny and a stranger and romance … *sigh* Let’s take a look at Lynda’s blurb for Birthright:

Christa can mask the pain and hide the scars, but running from a birthright is impossible.

She’s tried to escape her grief by fleeing to a small town in Florida. Much to her frustration, the locals think they recognize her even though she’s never been there before. To make things worse, a man named Jack spouts outrageous theories about her.

Both spur Christa to bolt, to start fresh yet again, but there’s something about Jack that intrigues her enough to stay. The only problem? Someone else wants her to leave, and they won’t stop until she’s dead.

Sounds cool, eh?

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to catch up with Lynda on Twitter, Facebook, Goodreads, or her Blog, and say Hi! 

Don’t forget to call back tomorrow for a ‘chat’ with Kelly Said. 🙂

11 thoughts on “Author Love: Lynda R. Young

  1. What a nice interview. I enjoyed getting to know a little more about Lynda. “Birthright” sounds like such an interesting story. BTW, I liked Cooper’s The Dark Is Rising series, too.

  2. Lovely interview. Birthright was one of my faves out of the anthology, maybe because it takes place in my home state of Florida. I, too, am a picturesque town kind of gal. There’s so much to take in and write about.

  3. Elizabeth, Thanks so much for popping over. Isn’t The Dark is Rising series just awesome??

    Jenny, aw, thanks for the kind words. Hugs.

    Dezzy, I’ll let my hubby know he has a fan 🙂 Many hugs for popping over here.

Comments are closed.