Author Love: J. Keller Ford


MASSIVE welcome to my fellow Make Believe author, J. Keller Ford.

I met Jen (virtually) on a writing site quite a few years ago, and have stayed in touch since so I’m very excited to have her on my blog today and for the opportunity to introduce her to you.

So, Jen, tell us a little about your story—and how does it relate to the prompt given for the anthology theme?

The Amulet of Ormisez is a story of love between brothers, love between husband and wife and the sacrifices both spouse and brother must make to save the one they love. 

The first three words that popped into my head when I saw the prompt were blood (the dress), sacrifice and purity (the snow).  As the castle was in shadow yet surrounded by snow, I knew the person inside must be pure of heart as well, but troubled, hurt.  The woman had to be his savior, but not without some sort of sacrifice on her part.  After two months of staring at the prompt, the idea for the story finally came to me.  Within three weeks, The Amulet of Ormisez was born.   

Love how each of us have been inspired in different ways. What can you tell us about the book that the blurb doesn’t tell us? Preferably without giving the entire plot away?

I am a fantasy writer.  As soon as I saw the prompt with a castle, my heart leapt for joy.  Any chance I can bring fantasy elements, including creatures, to a story, I’m happy.

What about the characters? What three words best describe your MC? How about the supporting cast?

My main character, Elton Fletcher, is a warrior, compassionate and committed.

His brother, Cayden, is arrogant, malicious and confused.

Cayden’s wife, Marsalí, is mysterious, resentful, yet merciful.

Marsalí’s handmaiden, Felicity, is temperate, loyal and noble.

Which character from your story would you most like to meet?

Elton Fletcher.  He’s so incredibly kind-hearted, empathetic and would do anything to protect those he loves.

He sounds adorable. 

Have you ever read a book more than once? If so, what was it?

I’ve read lots of books more than once.  I’ve read Great Expectations at least four times.  I recently finished Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix for the fifth time (it’s my favorite out of all the entire series).  I recently finished The Fault In Our Stars for the second time.

Now for some randomness:

Paranormal or dystopia—which do you prefer?

That’s a hard one because I like both.  I do have to say that most of the books I’ve read lately are dystopian so I’m going to go with that one.  It is subject to change at any moment, however. 

Coastal walks … or extreme sports?

Coastal walks, hands down.  What’s not to love about the Gulf beaches of Florida?

I’m with you.

Cats or dogs?

I have an assortment of both.  There is no way I could choose between them.

Yep, I’m with you again. 

E-book or print?

PRINT!  PRINT! PRINT!  E-books have their place, but I love the feel of a real book in my hand.  When I stumble upon really old books, I’m elated, as if I’ve just stumbled upon a piece of history.  As an author, I like the idea of signing books. No matter how hard one tries, an author can’t sign an e-book.  In addition, you can gift real books over and over again whereas you can’t do that with e-books.  Finally, as an author, reading my published book on a screen is no different than reading my final, unpublished manuscript on a computer screen.  Digital is digital.  They all look the same whether in draft or final. The only difference is one has a cover and an ISBN# and the other doesn’t.  Call me old fashioned, but this gal plans to cling to the tangible ‘written’ word for as long as I can.  🙂

For some reason, your answer doesn’t surprise me, hehehe.

And finally … in no more than three sentences, tell us why we should read your story? What about it will grip us by the shirt scruffs and drag us along for the ride? 

The Amulet of Ormisez is a tragic tale of betrayal entrenched within a story of boundless love, devotion and selfless personal sacrifice.  It’s a story filled with hope and a promise that no matter what evil threatens our lives, true love will see us through and conquer all.  Last, it is a heart-wrenching reminder of what we can achieve if we only take the risks and believe.

Sounds awesome! Let’s take a look at Jen’s blurb for The Amulet of Ormisez:

There is only one way to save Elton Fletcher’s brother from an insanity-ridden death.

After years away from home, fighting for his people, Elton returns to discover his only sibling, Cayden, possessed by greed and malice, and responsible for malicious, unthinkable deeds. Cayden, though, isn’t the only one afflicted by the Amulet of Ormisez, and Elton finds himself in yet another battle, where the price of failure could be his own life.

Sounds very cool, eh?

Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to catch up with J.Keller Ford on Twitter, Facebook, Website, or her Blog, and say Hi! 

Don’t forget to call back tomorrow for a ‘chat’ with Lynda R. Young. 🙂

21 thoughts on “Author Love: J. Keller Ford

  1. Great interview, Julie! You come up with some interesting questions. 🙂

    I definitely agree that print is better, Jenny! I also wish I could walk with you along some coastal beach in Florida, some day! 🙂

    1. Oh, I wish you could, too. It’s beautiful here today and the beaches are beautiful, the Gulf a gorgeous emerald green. I am very blessed to live here.

      1. Although the sun is shining here, it’s far to cold to go out without bundling up. It’s supposed to warm up a bit, but that will mean freezing rain – not fun to drive in after it turns the roads to skating rinks. Being on a beach would be much preferred to that! 🙂

  2. Oh the love!!! I’m so ready to tell everybody about this book 🙂 my special spot on the tour is gunna be so much fun!! And everyone- this book is awesome!! 🙂 see you guys at my stop on January 2nd! Oh and ps- I have a zoo so I’m with you guys too 🙂

  3. I have to agree. Even though I feel the future is Ebooks, it is just hard to curl up with a good Ebook. Also, it is hard to sit in a tub of water with a device. A little water on a real book won’t make that much of a difference.

    Tim

    1. Water on a real book???? Blasphemy! :p I actually love both. I tend to alternate. Read my Kindle and while and then I crave my paperbacks. Read paperbacks a while and then I crave the ease of my Kindle. It’s much easier to multitask when Kindle reading. 🙂

Comments are closed.