Let the NaNo-Nuttiness Commence!


Yep, tomorrow marks the start of November, which can only mean that National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) is upon us once again.

To be honest, I wasn’t sure if I would do it.

In April, I so wasn’t going to.

In August, when asked, my response was a ‘hell, no!’

But when I reached September and October, I started thinking a little harder about it.

Because, due to having to deal with one issue after another in my personal life, I feel like I’ve been stuck in a twisted track of Dominoes, in which the pieces never run out. Seriously. Due to this, my writing schedule has suffered. Big time. I planned to have Holloway Pack #4 all written and sent off at this point in the year, and be in the beginnings of giving my first YA a go. Alas, I’m only a third through HP4, and writing a YA seems a million miles away.

So, I’ve decided to use NaNo to give me a much needed shove.

Sure, last year I didn’t ‘win’. BUT, the push from doing NaNo resulted in Caged being completed at first draft, as well as Eternal—two that might have taken me longer otherwise—so I still considered it a personal win.

And I’m hoping for a similar result this year. Even if I don’t cross the finish line with my expected 50k, and even if I reach the end of November and Holloway Pack 4 isn’t quite done, so long as I’ve pulled my head out of its state of static-ness and added words to my WIP, I’ll be a happy bunny.

So, I shall be around and about a little during November. But I’m going to try to avoid the social network sites a little and spend less time on those than I currently do. Also, most of my blog posts will likely be updates on my NaNo progress—though there is a word count widget in my yonder sidebar ==>>>> for anyone who wants to keep track.

And to any of you guys out there who live local enough to have actual conversations with me or see me in real life? Yeah, warning: my phones will be off. You may even find a ‘do not disturb’ sign hanging on my front door. 😉

See you all on the other side, but be sure to check back tomorrow to find how three totally and utterly insane authors will be upping the ante to make the experience more interesting.

Aaaaaaaaaand, I can’t possibly go without saying …

HAPPY HALLOWEEN!

Like my ghosts? 😉

Now, if you recall, last year I was kinda on the ball and knocked out an Ethan Holloway short story for you all for Halloween. Unfortunately, my life has been pretty crazy for months now, which means I just haven’t managed to do the same for you this year. Sorry. 😦

However, for any who didn’t catch the short story, Halloween Hunting, last year, here’s a link for y’all to check it now: http://www.jabelfield.com/uploads/6/4/9/5/6495340/halloween_hunting.pdf

If you’re going trick or treating, stay warm and, most importantly, stay safe.

If you’re going fancy-dress-partying, I hope you have a heap load of fun.

So, who else is NaNo’ing this year? 🙂

4 thoughts on “Let the NaNo-Nuttiness Commence!

  1. I’m so glad you decided to do NaNo this year. I will you be joining you and every other NaNo participant. 🙂

Comments are closed.