Author Love: J.C. Martin {Oracle Blog Tour}


Welcome to my stop on the Oracle Tour Olympics! I’m very excited to that J.C. is here today. So, with little messing about (which is unusual from me), let’s move on with the show!

Having read Oracle, I found myself impressed—as I often am when reading a crime thriller—with the weaving of the elements and the unfolding of the plot. Did it come naturally to you to write this kind of novel or was it challenge?

Having read crime and mysteries all my life, from Nancy Drew and the Hardy Boys as a kid, to James Patterson, John Sandford and others today, I was brought up on puzzles and whodunits. While an intimacy with the genre is an advantage, there is always the challenge of revealing just enough to keep readers intrigued, but not so much that the big revelation becomes obvious too early on—that is a fine balance to strike. I find a clear, in-depth plot outline, including a chapter-by-chapter breakdown, helps immensely in mapping out the reveals of different elements and clues.

Before we move on, let’s take a quick look at the book we’re talking about:

As the countdown begins, the body count rises.

With London gearing up to host the Olympics, the city doesn’t need a serial killer stalking the streets. They’ve got one anyway.

Leaving a trail of brutal and bizarre murders, the police are no closer to finding their latest murderer than Detective Inspector Kurt Lancer is in finding a solution for his daughter’s disability.

Thrust into the pressure cooker of a high profile case, the struggling single parent is wound tight as he tries to balance care of his own family with the safety of a growing population of potential next victims.

One of whom could be his own daughter.

Fingers point in every direction as the public relations nightmare grows, and Lancer’s only answer comes in the form of a single oak leaf left at each crime scene.

Sounds pretty cool, eh?

Oracle is set around the time of the London Olympics. Was it a race against the clock to go through submissions and find a publisher able to release it in time-line with the actual Olympics?

Heck, yes! Especially once I started writing the story and realised just how slowly the wheels of publishing turn! When I finished Oracle, I had two choices: find an agent/publisher, or self-publish to release it in time for the Olympics. I had some agent interest, but it was all just too slow: even if the agent had offered representation, there was no guarantee he could get a publisher to release it in time. Luckily, I found a publisher on my own. J. Taylor Publishing not only liked the book, they can actually get it released in time for the Games! Win-win!

 

Definite win-win! I love how your blog name ‘Fighter Writer’ reflects exactly who you are. You teach martial arts outside of writing. Did that kind of knowledge/training come in handy when writing Oracle?

Definitely! Like myself, Kurt Lancer also practices Wing Chun kung fu, and I got him into a few sticky situations which required some knowledge in self-defence to get out of.  It was definitely handy to have a few tricks up my sleeve.

 

And of course, let’s talk Detective Inspector Kurt Lancer for a second: How did you come up with his character? Coz, you know the ladies are going to find him hawt, right?

Detective Lancer was inspired by the cultural melting pot that is London, especially East London. I wanted a protagonist who reflects the multi-ethnicity of the city, so I came up with a half-English, half-Nigerian detective with an interest in Chinese martial arts. To add to his complexity, I got him to practise a ‘soft’ martial art, one that is not strength-oriented, despite his considerable size and muscles.

I’m hoping the ladies will find him as hawt as I do. 😉

 

Oh, I’d say they will. And we’ll get to see more of him, right? Say it’s so …

You may be happy to hear that I am currently working on a second Lancer book. 😉

Wahoo! Yes, that does, in fact, make me very happy! Thanks so much for stopping by, J.C..

And here’s the lady herself:

J.C. Martin is a butt-kicking bookworm: when she isn’t reading or writing, she teaches martial arts and self-defence to adults and children. 

After working in pharmaceutical research, then in education as a schoolteacher, she decided to put the following to good use: one, her 2nd degree black belt in Wing Chun kung fu; and two, her overwhelming need to write dark mysteries and gripping thrillers with a psychological slant. 

Her short stories have won various prizes and have been published in several anthologies. Oracle is her first novel. 

Born and raised in Malaysia, J.C. now lives in south London with her husband and three dogs.

You can follow along in J.C. publishing exploits on Twitter, Facebook, & her Blog.

So, does Oracle sound like your kind of read? If so, you can find purchase links HERE! And in the meantime, why not add it to your TBR pile by clicking on the cover image above.

And before you go: J.C. has a GREAT contest running over on her blog, with a prize that just gets better as Oracle climbs up the Amazon ranks. Check it out HERE!

4 thoughts on “Author Love: J.C. Martin {Oracle Blog Tour}

Comments are closed.