Blog Tour: Win a copy of Crux by Julie Reece!


Wahoo! I’m so, so excited to be a part of Julie Reece’s blog tour. Not only is she an awesome bird, but her debut YA novel, Crux, totally rocks!

And I just so happen to have ONE Ebook of said rocking YA novel Crux up for grabs today. Double Wahoo!

Here’s what it’s all about:

She should have run. Now, she’ll have to fight.

Eighteen year old Birdie may be homeless, but she’s surviving, that is until a mysterious guy throws money in the air like a crazy game show host, and she grabs some with the idea she’ll be able to buy dinner that night. 

In that singular moment, unassuming Birdie becomes the girl in everyone’s viewfinder. Thugs want to kill her. Money-guy wants to recruit her. The very hot, very rich, and very out of her league Grey Mathews wants to save her.

Birdie, though, wants nothing to do with any of them, until she realizes fate didn’t bring them all together. 

Her heritage did.

Now, with only twenty-one days left, she’s got to decide whether to follow in the footsteps of those before her or risk her life for people she’s only just met.

LURVE the cover for this one. LURVE it!

And if you want to know what I thought about the story on the inside, check out my review:

Take one likeable, relatable girl with a crappy background, one swoon-worthy dude who has just the right amount of strength and just the right amount of give-a-damn, one quirky-if-eccentric mentor, and one shedload of heritage revelations that leads the cool girl and cute guy to an unavoidable pinnacle moment in a certain history—with girl battling every one of her demons and fears along the way—and you pretty much have Crux.

I think that’s everything. There are so many aspects to this tale and they’re all so effortlessly linked to make the bigger picture that at first glance one might miss just how complex this tale is. Because there’s a little of everything in here. As kinda mentioned above.

Now, I hate spoilers in reviews and will avoid sticking any in if at all possible, so here goes:

Birdie: Love her headstrong yet vulnerable character, and the development we witness as she goes from being used to taking care of herself to being protective of others she’s allowed herself to care about.

Grey: *Sigh* He is an absolute darling. He can come fight my battles any day of the week. 😉

Jeff: He may not appear at first glance to be a cool guy but dig deeper and you’ll notice that very little ruffles his feathers. Oh, and there is definitely more to Jeff than meets the eye.

On top of these three major players, we have a pretty diverse supporting cast—the cool friends, the total b***h that gives Birdie grief, the love of a family that Grey takes for granted and Birdie craves …

The plot: It’s historical, it’s Nordic, it’s romantic, it’s fantastical, it’s … epic? That’s about as much as I’m willing to say on that. Except for: the author’s writing has an almost lyrical tone to it, a flow to her prose that can lure you along without you even realising you’ve been captured. A definite win!

So … have I sold it to you yet? 

That’s what I thought. 😉

If you want to win an E-copy of Crux, all’s you gotta do is leave a comment telling us why you want to read it.

That’s all.

You have until midnight 17th July, after which I will choose a winner using Random.org. Winner will be contacted shortly after, and will have 48 hours to respond and accept their prize, and they must be willing for me to forward their email to the publisher for delivery of their prize.

Born in Ohio, I lived next to my grandfather’s horse farm until the fourth grade. Summers were about riding, fishing and make-believe, while winter brought sledding and ice-skating on frozen ponds. Most of life was magical, but not all.

I struggled with multiple learning disabilities, did not excel in school. I spent much of my time looking out windows and daydreaming. In the fourth grade (with the help of one very nice teacher) I fought dyslexia for my right to read, like a prince fights a dragon in order to free the princess locked in a tower, and I won.

Afterwards, I read like a fiend. I invented stories where I could be the princess … or a gifted heroine from another world who kicked bad guy butt to win the heart of a charismatic hero. Who wouldn’t want to be a part of that? Later, I moved to Florida where I continued to fantasize about superpowers and monsters, fabricating stories (my mother called it lying) and sharing them with my friends.

Then I thought I’d write one down …

Hooked, I’ve been writing ever since. I write historical, contemporary, urban fantasy, adventure, and young adult romances. I love strong heroines, sweeping tales of mystery and epic adventure … which must include a really hot guy. My writing is proof you can work hard to overcome any obstacle. Don’t give up. I say, if you write, write on!

Please support this awesome author by adding Crux to your Goodreads list: clicking on the cover image above will take you to its page. And don’t forget to go stalk Julie Reece and say hi–you’ll find her here:

Goodreads | Facebook | Twitter | Blog | Website

And if you simply can’t wait for the contest to end before devouring this awesome book, no worries: purchase links can be found HERE!

Good luck, guys!

9 thoughts on “Blog Tour: Win a copy of Crux by Julie Reece!

  1. I’ve been following Julie on FB and the cover just grabbed me! The book sounds amazing and I’d love to review it on my blog!!!

    Thanks for the giveaway! ❤
    Tobi

  2. Hi everybody!

    I just wanted to drop by, say hello, and thank the lovely and talented Ms Belfield for talking about my book today. I’m so honored! Julie is an awesome writer. Period. So to have her say such nice things about Crux makes my whole week! 🙂

    Good luck on the giveaway, everyone. If you read Crux, it’s my hope you’ll really enjoy the story. Thank you so much for dropping by and checking it out! 🙂

  3. I have had the pleasure of reading Crux and I was blown away. This is a book for EVERYONE’s library. Get one for you, your kids, your aunts, uncles, grand-parents. It is phenomenal! Good luck to all the entrants. Trust me…you’ll devour it and want more.

  4. The cover alone is enough to entice me to read it. After reading the lead up it looks like a good book to disappear into for a while.

  5. This books sounds like it will really hold my attention! That’s always a plus for me. There is nothing like being able to devour a book. Thanks for the chance to win!

  6. Agree – lovely cover – but Ms Belfield 🙂 has such lovely taste in books that I can’t really overlook this!!!
    Congrats on the publication, Julie!

Comments are closed.