2012 READING GOALS—WHAT’S YOURS?


Okay, so let me start by saying I reeeeeeeeaaaaaally wanted to scream my latest news from the rooftops for this post, but alas having a contract means I have a marketing schedule to uphold and you’re all going to have to wait a little longer for what you all probably already suspect (sorry).

So … instead, I’m going to chat about my reading plans for 2012 and leave you all guessing for a little bit longer.

Onwards:

I’ve never set myself reading goals before. I simply read. And then I read some more. But since being on Goodreads, the marvellous folk I’ve met do a fine job of sweeping me up in their craziness. One of their crazy ideas is setting themselves personal challenges with regards to their reading.

So … I joined in.

The done thing is to start yourself a thread in the group for your personal challenge, openly declaring the challenge you’re setting yourself. So I went in. and I challenged myself to read 50 books throughout 2012.

Not merely content with that, I added to my challenge.

You see, I have a LOT of singles (titles not part of a series) sitting in my Kindle that I got for free (mostly through Pixel of Ink—love that site).

More than EIGHTY, in fact (just see image for proof–that’s on my Goodreads personal challenge thread and shows only SOME of them).

But due to my LOVE of series reading, they keep getting ignored.

So … on top of my challenge to read 50 books in 2012, I set the additional challenge of: for every series I read, I then have to read one of my freebie singles before I’m allowed to start on a new series.

Good challenge, no?

And that should have been that.

Maybe it would have been … if one Carole-Ann hadn’t sidled into my thread and told me my challenge number wasn’t high enough and I should up it to 72.

Now I respect Carole-Ann. Enormously. And if she thinks I’m up to that raised challenge, then I most probably am.

So I listened to her. And my 2012 reading challenge became: read a minimum of 72 books before year’s end and for every series I get hooked on, I MUST read a single freebie before I’m allowed to find another series to hook my talons into.

See? Simples! *Gulp*

How about yourselves? What 2012 challenges do you intend to rise to?

16 thoughts on “2012 READING GOALS—WHAT’S YOURS?

  1. Ack! Why am I so…non-commital to reading challenges?! Gah. Okay, here’s the thing. I plan to read all of the Demonica series by Larissa Ione (what’s that, like 5 books?), PLUS, I’m going to read all of the BDB by J.R. Ward (10 books?) PLUS, I’m going to finish the Fever series that I started by KMM. The Hollway Pack, The Glassman and Little White Lies. Oh and Into the Unknown. Of course, I’m salivating over the release of the Darkest Seduction and cannot wait to read Lothaire. There’s a couple of Immortals After Dark I’ve not yet gotten to either. Okay, so…that’s like, only 30 books or so. :\ Hmmmm.

    Let me get back to you on this…

  2. I’ve been wishy washy on reading lately. I try to get a little in here and there but I notice msot of my reading is online articles on hockey and whatnot. When my sports teams are in season, I have trouble concentrating on fiction. Though, right now, I wish the season was fiction. Ahem. Edits and writing have been my priority as of late and I don’t see that changing anytime soon.

  3. This year, my goal is to read a book a week. It’s week two of the new year so yeah, so far, so good, hehehe! 🙂

    72 for you? Whew! Go get ’em JAB 😀

    1. Hehehe, yeah 72 seemed totally doable before we hit week 2 of January and I realised edits and beta’ing has kept me from even completing #1. Hey ho. 🙂

  4. I’m reading 12 adult books and 12 YA books. That’s all I’ll commit to. Seems measly in comparison. LOL But with all the unpubbed books I read for friends, it seems doable! 🙂

  5. I have always been a voracious reader and have been known to manage 7-10 books a week, dependent on my schedule and mood. Many times I have reread books and even entire series, especially if a new book in the series is scheduled for release. I have always carried a book or two in my purse or backpack to have on hand anytime I have a few minutes to read. And since getting an ereader several years ago, having a beloved favorite on hand is even easier.

    My goal this year is to actually finish a couple of series that I started and then stopped reading for whatever reason. These include the Faythe Sanders series by Rachel Vincent, the Final Prophecy series by Jessica Andersen, and the Weather Warden series by Rachel Caine. I also want to go back and reread the Xanth series by Piers Anthony and finish that series as well (stopped reading it when I graduated high school and have never finished the series.) Additionally I would like to start reading the Patrick Bowers series by Steven James, the Spellman File by Lisa Lutz, the Love at Stake series by Kerrelyn Sparks, and the Rogue Angel series by Alex Archer.

    I keep hearing excellent things about the Dirk & Steele series by Marjorie M Liu as well as the Worl of the Lupi series by Eileen Wilks, but I just haven’t worked up the interest to attempt them. But they are on my radar for possible reads this year, dependent on what new authors I find (such as yourself) and what gets released this year.

    1. I love reading entire series’, Judy. The investment in the characters just grows stronger with each book. The only series I’ve read from those you mention is the Faythe Sanders one–and I recommend you reading on because it just gets better and better with each book. 🙂

  6. OK – I’m the ‘fall-guy’ if Julie doesn’t make it to 72 this year – and I take full responsibility 🙂

    On average, I read about 3-4 books a week, not including e-books 🙂 although since my shop has opened, I’m finding it a little difficult to keep up 😦 but I’m determined to read my HUGE tbr list AND all the new releases coming.

    So I’ll be encouraging Julie to keep up, if possible, but I WILL NOT distract her from writing more superb stories!

    My goal (dammit – failing already) is to keep up to date my reviews on GR; and to convince the people of Somerset that PNR is an incredible genre to read!

    Hugs all round

    1. You always have such kind words for me, Carole-Ann. 🙂
      When you’re working in your shop, do you ever get time to read there? And yes, you certainly should teach those Somerset folk that pnr rules. For goodness sake, didn’t the old milk-maid and werewolf rumours start down your way? 😉

  7. In 2011, I said I’d do 50. I did 55. So, for 2012, I set 55 as the number. In 2010, I read 68. It’s a fine balance between reading and writing, though. I wrote more in 2011 than in 2010 so I’m happy with my output and will stick with what worked pretty well for me last year.

  8. I met my goal of 150 in 2011, so I made my goal 175 for this year. But I also want to challenge myself to find some new exciting authors this year as well!

Comments are closed.