INTERVIEW & GIVEAWAY: KERI LAKE!


THE DRAW FOR THIS GIVEAWAY WAS MADE ON MONDAY (12/12/11) AS STATED. AND AS THE WINNER HAS GOTTEN BACK TO ME TO ACCEPT THEIR PRIZE, I CAN NOW ANNOUNCE THAT THE WINNER OF THE SIGNED PAPERBACK & BOOKMARK IS:

KRYSTAL LARSON (COMMENT #21)

THANK YOU ALL SO MUCH FOR PARTICIPATING.  PLEASE REMEMBER TO LOOK OUT FOR MORE GIVEAWAYS IN THE FUTURE.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

 

It is my GREAT pleasure to have on my blog today, the one and only delightful Keri Lake.

A married mother of two living in Michigan, Keri writes urban fantasy and paranormal romance (which is a HUGE win, imo), and her debut novel, Somnium: Halos 1 is due to be launched on the 16th December. Before we take a peek at that, let’s just partake in a massive Wheeeeeeeeeee! cheer for Keri. And here’s the book itself:

From Goodreads:

A work assignment in Kittery, Maine should be routine for Allie Lynch; nothing more than to prove herself as a brilliant engineer. Instead she finds herself torn between two men: a gorgeous military guard, Colton Briggs, and her devilishly handsome colleague, Drew Costa. To resist temptation, Allie does the only thing she can: she throws herself into her work.
But fate has other plans for Allie. Women are going missing all around her, Allie is struck with a series of life-threatening mishaps, and she becomes the obsession of a local deranged psychopath.
Thrust into a dark world that she can hardly fathom, Allie must fight for her very survival, open her mind to new realities – and open her heart to the possibility of love. Because both of these men are trouble – but one is a greater danger than she could ever imagine …

Sounds pretty cool, eh? And how gorgeous is that cover? I did try to embed the Book Trailer but I’m such a techno-klutz that I failed on that account. However, here’s the link: http://youtu.be/HuK-ooJUN9M for any who dares to check it out (‘Tis pretty awesome). And you can add the book to your Goodreads list by clicking on the cover image above.

If you fancy giving Somnium a bash, why not stick around for the giveaway posted below her interview:

Without further a do, I’d like to welcome Keri to my blog.

The first question that springs to mind when I read the blurb of your novel is why angels and demons? With a whole host of supernatural beings to choose from in the PNR genre, what was it that made you go in this direction?

I’ve always been fascinated by angels and demons.  Good versus evil.  Somnium is loosely based on my sister.  When she moved out of state a few years back, it was really scary.  She’s the baby of the family.  I began writing the novel soon after she left and it sort of gave me some piece of mind; the idea of someone looking out for her.

Allie is your MC. It’s so hard to understand what motivates a character from the blurb alone. To give us a better glimpse of what makes her tick, what five words would you use to describe her?

As I mentioned, Allie is loosely based on my sister.  But she also has some elements of me in her.  I guess that’s the case with writers.  The five words I would use to describe her:

  1.  Feisty – she is undoubtedly a little pistol
  2. Curious – the girl can’t leave well enough alone
  3. Clumsy – this is definitely my sister
  4. Funny – she definitely has a sense of humor
  5. Stubborn – don’t think I need to comment on this one.

And as there are (not one but) two hot dudes fighting for Allie’s attention, how about you sum each of them up with one sentence?

Well, Drew Costa is undoubtedly a handsome devil, smart and sometimes charming, but a man with a chip on his shoulder.

Colton Briggs is a sexy soldier and a man of few words who could darn near shoot daggers from his piercing blue eyes.

Um … yum, anyone?

Somnium is subtitled: Halos #1. I’m guessing that means it’s part of a bigger picture. Care to elaborate for any who’re interested?

I was looking at a trilogy with this one, but there’s actually quite a bit to say about the Halos world.  So I started a novella…and I’m not sure it’ll stop there.  For now, we’ll just call Somnium Book 1.

And onto some more personal questions … about you:

Where is your favourite spot to write?

Oh boy, this is going to sound really awful, but my favorite place to write is actually in my car.  I like to crank the heat (or air in the summer), flip on my iPod and go to town…er, on my book…not literally drive to town.  I’m not one for typing the first draft.  I have to write it out by hand.  The ideas flow uninterrupted – perhaps jotting them down on paper gives my brain an opportunity to stay ahead of my thoughts.  So the car is just fine for that.  The exception is when my characters drag me out of bed at 3-4 am.  Then it’s my desk, tucked away in a corner with a blanket and some strong coffee.

That has to be the most bizarre answer I’ve heard yet, lol.

When I write, I prefer to be in PJ trousers, a mug of caffeine at my elbow, a packet of something munchable slightly out of reach (just because I like the security of them being there but having them too far away makes it less likely I’ll nibble the entire packet in one sitting), and my family in the other room watching TV. So … how do you settle in to write?

Haha!  Well, my writing routine is different from my editing routine.  When I set myself to write, all I need is a cup of coffee and some music.  I wrote Halos during my lunch breaks at work, so I’d nibble on lunch while I was working throughout the day and then have my lunch hour to do nothing but grab a Starbucks and write.  Pen + paper + peppermint mocha + iTunes = Staves off writer’s block.

Editing is another issue.  I typically need some sugar close by, my iPhone for Twitter breaks, a good night’s sleep and silence.

Ice cream or fresh cream—which rocks your hormones to the greatest effect?

Definitely ice cream. 

Pizza toppings: meat feast … or plain ole cheese & tom?

I’m a ham & pineapple kinda gal. 

Hehehehe

Better way to relax: Books … or movies?

Books, hands down.  I love movies and get excited about renting them.  But then I end up feeling guilty.  Like I should be doing something else.  At least with reading I feel like I’m sharpening my craft.

And finally … in no more than three sentences, tell us why we should buy your book: what para’s the normal to make Somnium unique?

I think it’s the characters in the story that will surprise readers the most.  They’re multi-dimensional, going beyond simply angels or demons.  Flaws give them some depth and make the storyline unique.

I love deep characters that allow a reader to get inside their head—I love to try and figure out what makes them tick. Thank you so much to Keri for visiting my blog today. It’s been an absolute pleasure.

So, people, does Somnium sound like your cup of tea? Awesome, because Keri is giving away one signed print copy of Somnium: Halos 1 AND 1 bookmark, and here’s how you can win them:

Simply leave a comment below to be eligible (along with your email for contact purposes). That’s it. Easy peasy.

Terms and conditions of giveaway:

Giveaway ends midnight 11th December 2011–all comments must be posted by then to be eligible. 

A winner will be selected using Random.org within 24 hours of giveaway closure, and the winner will be notified via email.

Once the notified, the winner will have 48 hours to accept and provide a shipping address or the prize will be reallocated.

Prize is as stated–no [cash or otherwise] alternatives will be provided.

Rightio, everyone … the floor’s yours. Good luck! 

And if you’re interested in finding out more about Keri, she can be found lurking at Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, or her website

68 thoughts on “INTERVIEW & GIVEAWAY: KERI LAKE!

  1. Lovely interview and thank you for the giveaway!The cover looks AMAZING, would love to read the book:)
    My e-mail is
    love2slim(AT)yahoo(DOT)com

  2. What a great interview and the book sounds awesome. That cover is something else. I love it and cant wait to read it. You have my e-mail, love. 🙂

  3. Being the baby of the family, I really think it’s sweet that you felt the need to have someone watch over her. I have this on my to read list.

  4. I can see the appeal of writing in the car (not while driving 😉 ), like a little writer’s cocoon all cozied up with the steering wheel there to act as a desktop, hehehe! I’m like JAB though, having snacks on hand but *just* out of reach encourages me to actually get up and stretch every once and awhile. It’s also nice to see someone else capitalizing on their lunchbreaks to get some writing done – I do the same, unless I get distracted by Twitter, hehehe! 😉

    Love this interview, thanks for sharing so much of yourself, Keri! And thanks to JAB for hosting! 😎

    1. I’m actually pretty new to stories with angels and demons in so this will be somewhat new to me and I’m very much looking forward to it coming out. Thanks for entering, BSB. Good luck. 🙂

  5. Huge thank you to JAB for a fun interview! Great questions! And many thanks for all of the wonderful comments 🙂 I appreciate you taking the time to check out my book!

  6. Hello, J.A. Good to meet you, My buddy Keri, and quite the interesting interview subject, sent me over. I enjoyed not only hearing about her, but learning about you at the same time. It made for a fascinating interview. Well done. My thanks to both of you ladies for sharing that.
    I would love the opportunity to check out Keri’s work.
    rapture 22 at hotmail dot com

    -Jimmy

  7. This book sounds so intense! I think I might faint reading this book. Hope I win 🙂

    Oops I forgot my email, ashley(dot)chen1994(at)hotmail(dot)com

  8. I love how you based the character on your sister! The description reminds me of my sister! Yay sister power!! ❤
    My email is inmyownheart(at)hotmail(dot)com

  9. Oh I love how she said she writes in her car!! I write on the bus 😛

    My email is beavertwins1994(at)hotmail(dot)com

  10. The cover is beautiful and I would totally like to read the book. Thank you for the giveaway.

    Happy Holidays!

    Deb

  11. Great interview! Wow you are so gifted to be able to sit down on your lunchbreak and write. Your book sounds interested. I love the triangle thing. I hope she doesn’t have to chose who she helps. Guess I’m going to have to read it and see 🙂 christina_92 at yahoo.com

  12. In the car? That’s a new one on me. 🙂 I wish I could get away with that. 🙂 I also wish I could write on paper. My mind works faster than I can write, but not faster than I can type. I’d end up snapping the pencil in two and whipping it at something, I think.

Comments are closed.