THE ‘WHAT IF’ GAME! #whatifgame


This is the 2nd post of the monthly ‘what if’ game.

Rules are simple: All you have to do is read the below scenario, then imagine it is YOURSELF in there and leave a comment detailing what YOU would do. Not written as a character. But written as yourself.

Okay? Ready?

Here’s your scenario:

Seven pm has arrived. Time for your jog. Seven pm jogging is a ritual of yours (if you’re like me and only jog when desperate for the loo, then just pretend you like to jog). You have your MP3 in your sweatpants pocket, your earbuds tucked into your lugholes, and your hair swept back into a tight ponytail (unless you’re bald). Door’s locked on your way out the house, a couple stretches on the front path that you know the old dude living across the way gets a kick out of spying on, and you’re off.

Less than 100 yards brings you to the park perimeter and you duck through a break in the hedgerow. The burn has already laid claim to your thighs. Your breaths have surpassed the pants of initial exertion and moved into the realm of shallow and regulated. And ACDC is blasting a tune into your ears.

After the soft padding of grass, the path sends jolts through your calves as you pummel the asphalt. One step … breathe … two step … breathe … three step … breathe … four—those tiny hairs smothering the nape of your neck snap upright like an army of downy soldiers.

Your pace falters. You spin around, jog backward, scanning the shadows of the trees to the left of the walkway. Though your vision conjures no images, you just know someone is there.

You whirl back onto your path—but not before knocking the volume right down on Fall Out Boy, now playing—and the rest of the straight stretch is covered with a tilt of your head.

The moment the footsteps fall into pattern to your rear, you capture them. Without intention, your speed picks up.

Boom-boom, boom-boom, the beat of your feet rapidly chased by the pursuing ones gives the impression of a heartbeat not quite sure of its rhythm, the duet growing closer together, the merging leaving you questioning if you’d even heard a second set at all … until the line of lamplight casts the shadow alongside your own.

Without a doubt: you are not alone.

Moronically, you weave a left through the bushes—despite knowing only a far stretch of trees lie that way (because the heroine NEVER acts rationally or responsibly in the movies, right?), and before you know it, twigs are scratching your cheeks as well as threatening to twist your damn ankles as they hang low from above and create a knobbly route beneath your soles.

Your breaths pant from you, their passage burning your chest. Sweat provides a chill across your brow as it connects with the night air to contrast against the heat of panic soaring through your body.

You erupt into a clearing.

Ahead is a man.

You skid to a halt, your squeaked cry penetrating the whump of your coursing blood. As you pivot to kick dust, the the first guy who shepherded you to the clearing stomps to a standstill on your other side.

His face twists in what appears to be temper … but not at you—his blackening eyes are directed only at the new arrival as fangs as long and sharp as leather-work needles shoot down from his gums.

At a deep rumbling to your rear, you whip round again—only to discover the thunderous racket is rolling from the throat of the other dude as he leans forward and bares his shiny straight gnashers.

“Come with me if you want to live,” says Mr pointy-tooth, as Mr Growler snarls out, “Get behind me now!”

So … what do you do? Who are you gonna trust?

Feel free to join in and create your own ‘what-if’s. Simply use the hashtag for posting to Twitter.

Available at the following outlets:

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

WHSmith & Waterstones

14 thoughts on “THE ‘WHAT IF’ GAME! #whatifgame

  1. My heart pounds furiously; my eyes dart back and forth between the two. Who to trust?

    I catch sight of my escape in the form of a skinny, twisted path through the woods. Stupid! But what choice do I have? Either one of these men could be out to lay claim on me. In a dead sprint that would have made my track coach proud, I head toward the trees. Footsteps thud against the ground in tandem behind me. Run. Run faster.

    Languor threatens to slow my pace, but I push past the burn seeping up into my legs. Dodging branches and leaping over rocks and boulders like an obstacle course, I make my way deeper into the dark woods. Dried leaves of the forest bed crackle beneath my Nike’s.

    A howl erupts from behind me followed by the agonizing wail of pain. Someone or something is being ruthlessly attacked. Oh God. My pulse hammers and I swallow a gulp. Looking around, it occurs to me that I have no idea where I am; deep in the thick of the woods, with no sense of direction. What I wouldn’t give for my damn iPhone right now!

    The snap of a twig draws my attention to the left of me. A set of eyes watching my every move, hovers against the trees. Shallow pants and a whimper pass my lips. “Please.” It’s all I can think to say.
    The eyes edge closer, revealing a new face. So handsome. He stands bare-chested, wearing nothing but jeans, and is covered in sweat; every inch of his body muscled and carved to precision. Blood trickles from his arm. Dark brown hair adds a striking contrast to his golden eyes. “Are you alright?”

    I’m inclined to run. Run dammit! But his voice is laced with humanity. It’s also deep and seductively inviting. “Th…th…two men. Well, I don’t know if they were men. I’ve never seen men like that before. They were chasing me. And…” I prattle as usual.

    “You have nothing to fear now.” Don’t I?

    He inches closer. A heady scent, manly and woodsy rouses my senses. “They were vampires.” I say in my most serious tone, momentarily affected by my sudden arousal. Snap out of it!

    “Yes. And now they’re not.” He chuckles.

    “What are you?”

    A wicked grin dances across his face. “Not a vampire.” He lurches forward, crowding me against the tree. There was a tree behind me? He’s pressed up against me and I tremble; but not in fear. His lips, inches from mine, draw my focus. So soft-looking; so kissable. What is wrong with me? Not ten minutes from nearly being attacked and I’m imagining this strangers lips on mine. I attempt to calm the frantic beating of my heart. His breath falls light against my cheek. Do it. Kiss me.

    He pulls away from me. “Let’s get you home, Love. The woods are a dangerous place at night.”

    Ooops. Hope this isn’t too long 🙂 Always the case with me! Lol And it seems my italics isn’t working…So might not read the way I intended. Anyway, fun fun! Love these little prompts you post…You do a fantabulous job of setting up the scene too m’dear.

    1. Hahaaaaaaaaaaaaa. Man, you are GREEDY! I give you two men to choose one and you get man #3 to eliminate them so you can make him to order???????
      Too funny. Thanks for playing, Keri. 🙂

  2. Lol! I couldn’t decide between them! And since I don’t do love triangles very well, I figured I’d just kill them off!
    Besides, wouldn’t you choose the wolf in the end??? Hmmmm? 🙂 🙂 🙂

  3. I don’t know that I’m creative enough to come up with an ending to the scene but I have to say the I like Keri’s! I’m all for killing of the vamps and ending up with a werewolf!

  4. Oh my god what do I do? I looked around to see if there was any way I could get away. There wasn’t. I looked at mr pointy teeth. He was chasing me, no doubt to drink my blood. But then why was the other guy there? As if he was waiting for me. Are they both in on this? Oh hell.

    The one chasing me looks like a vampire, but if the other one is just a man, then what chance has he got with him? I ran and stood behind mr Growler.

    They stood there staring at each other. I looked around ready to flee. Then all hell broke loose. They were punching, hitting and growling at each other as if they were dogs scrapping.

    That’s it, I started running as fast as I could, where I was going I hadn’t got a clue, I just wanted to get away from both of them while they were busy with each other. I kept running and found myself in a thick wooded area. I stopped to catch my breath. If I stayed here quietly for a bit, they shouldn’t find me.

    I was starting to calm down, I looked around me again. I had to get away from here. I started to carry on the way I was going. Then I stopped, and the terror I had came back with a vengeance. Standing in front of me was Mr Growler. If he had got away from a vampire, then what was he?

    “You got away? H…how did you manage that? He was a vampire.”

    He just stood there grinning at me. The hairs on the back of my neck was standing up.

    “Who are you? And what do you want with me?”

    He came closer to me, and bent forward and whispered in my ear.

    “I’m the one that has just saved your life, but there maybe other’s so let’s get going.”

    I gave a deep sigh of relief. He took my hand and he showed me the way out. I still couldn’t understand how he had got away.

    “D….did you kill him?” He turned and looked at me and shook his head.

    “No I did not kill him, I just gave him a good talking too.”

    “But…..How? Why?”

    There was a throaty roar of laughter. Then he bent down to me, his eyes never leaving my eyes.

    “Because my dear lady. You are mine. Nobody else’s. Mine. I have been waiting for you a long time my dear.”

    Then he gave me the most beautiful smile I had ever seen. I was mesmerised. He was so handsome and muscular. Why hadn’t I noticed that before?

    Then I saw them. He had fangs just like the other one. But I just didn’t care. I felt safe with him, I did not fear him. For some reason I knew he wasn’t going to hurt me, and he was going to keep me safe for the rest of my life………

    1. Just brilliant.

      “Mr Growler”<<Chortle. 🙂

      "I just gave him a good talking too.”<<*snort*

      Thanks so much for playing, Julie. Lovely to have you on my blog. 🙂

  5. WTF? Two guys I don’t even know ready to fight over my no-makeup ass? And me without my body spray.
    “Boys, boys, boys. You don’t have to fight, there’s enough of me to go around,” I interjected. “Hence the jogging.” They both stopped and looked at me, incredulous. I guess I wasn’t supposed to interupt macho man hour. “Ok, fine, have at. Fight over me. Whatever. I’ll just stand here and wish for some popcorn”, I snapped.
    “I’m trying to save your life, you idiot” spat Mr. Growler as the vampire look-alike lunged for me. That was my cue to hightail it over behind the growly one and cower for dear life.
    “Ummm, excuse me, but do you know why he wants to kill me,” my voice kinda squeaked on the kill me part. My protector didn’t even take his eyes off my would be murderer as he answered me. “I assumme it’s because he thinks you would not only taste good but be easy prey. Your form sucks.” His voice was nice and deep and held a trace of humor. He was making jokes at my expense while a vampire watched us from feet away!
    The vampire paced back and forth, agitated. It obviously was trying to decide if I was worth the fight. I thought I was, but was hoping he wouldn’t come to the same conclusion. Finally, the vampire looked back at us. “You win this time, she’s yours. Next time you don’t get a head start though, wolf. I’ll tell the boss.”
    I heaved a huge sigh of relief, then I exploded. “What is going on? You two know each other! He wasn’t really going to eat me?Did he call you wolf?
    By now, my valiant hereo was sitting on the ground laughing so hard he couldn’t breathe, much less speak. I stood there tapping my foot, getting madder by the second. Finally he stood and wiped his eyes. “You should have seen your face, lady! That was too good. As if i would have let him near you. Puh-lease! Yes, we know each other. Yes, he called me wolf. No I won’t explain any further right now. Let’s get you home”
    He grabbed my arm and marched me back through the park, straight to my door. Despite all my begging, he hadn’t offered up a single word on the walk. Damn. Just before I turned my key in the lock he said “Wait.”
    I turned back to face him and found him standing waaay close to me. He closed his eyes and drew in a deep breath, slowly. After a moment he opened his eyes. “Don’t go back to the park. Run somewhere safe, well lit, busy. Oh, and take this.” He reached up and took off his necklace. It was a leather cord, dark brown. On it was a round metal disk with some weird carving on it. He actually fastened it around my neck, while I stood there, mouth open, eyes wide. “It should keep you safe enough for a while. It has my scent on it so they will all know you are mine now.”
    I continued to stare at him as his words sank in. “Yours? What does that mean? What does any of this crazy stuff mean? I screamed at him. He shrank back a little.
    “It means I’ll be back, sunshine.”

  6. Pingback: makeup case

Comments are closed.