COMING SOON: FATED ENCOUNTER!


A couple weeks ago, I had the idea to write a short story that I could give to my readers for free. I’m a sucker for writing little snippets of stuff that shows how events in my novels played out from a different perspective—especially as my 1st person PoV preference shows them through only one character’s eyes.

Anyhoo, I got to wondering … about the very first time Jem ‘thought’ she saw Sean in Darkness & Light, and I decided it might be fun to understand the encounter from Sean’s PoV.

Not only would I get to make it a little … um … ‘funner’ than the original, I’d get to work with the male I love working with, the male whose voice arrives as loud as a banshee wail in my ear.

So I wrote it.

Took me a few days (if you know me, you know I’m a slow typer), but I really liked what I ended up with.

And I was excited at the thought of sticking it up on my website as a free read for everyone—a way to say thanks to all those awesome people who have bought Darkness & Light and showed their support.

But that’s not the news.

The news is that I shared the story with my editor—not to sell (they don’t sell stories as short as this one), but just because she was interested. When it came back edited (I didn’t sulk at the red-pen, honest), and with a proposition, I was a little surprised … yet totally excited.

Yep, J. Taylor Publishing have offered to put Fated Encounter up as a free Kindle and Ebook read for folks to obtain, which means it got a cover and a blurb and it will have the potential to reach a much wider platform.

Wheeeeeeeeeeeeee!

In case you didn’t get that, I’m excited.

Wheeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

What’s more, I’ve been told we can aim for a September 1st release so readers won’t have to wait very long for it to be available.

Wheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

If you have a Kindle or E-reader, remember to look out for my announcement of its arrival. Just so you know, here’s what you should be looking out for (pssst, as this is a Jem & Sean tale, don’t forget to play spot the wolves):

One glimpse. That scent. There. Right there. Could it be … her? 

 The female within Sean Holloway’s dreams is real, and he intends to see her face even if it means hiding behind a women’s lingerie rack to do it.

With curiosity burning too hot for him to ignore, Sean turns an ordinary family errand into the chance of a lifetime only to be interrupted time and again.

In this companion piece to Darkness & Light, see Jem the way Sean saw her for the very first time.

Just how close is Sean willing to get before he’ll take fate into his own hands?

Enough to make the impossible come true … maybe.

~~~~~

Bonus! Follow along from Jem’s perspective in Chapter 10 of Darkness & Light

 

Yeah! So excited that I’m getting to share this Mini with you all this way!

And before I wrap it up, I have to say a MASSIVE thank you to Rebecca Hart for helping me conjure a suitable title. You Rock!

Well, what do you think? Do you like the cover? Have you read Darkness & Light, and do you know which scene this Mini revolves around? I’d love to know your thoughts.

Darkness & Light is available at the following outlets:

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

WHSmith

Waterstones

14 thoughts on “COMING SOON: FATED ENCOUNTER!

  1. Yay! 😀 That’s awesome! Love that the same wolf emblem is in this one too! I love how it ties all your covers together, such a neat idea! 🙂

    And there’s Jem in her jeans that Peter doesn’t like her wearing 😛 haha

    Can’t wait to read it, J.A.! 😀

    1. Hehehe, thanks, Ambur. Yeah, it would have been totally wrong to have someone in a skirt, right?
      The wolf emblem will be on all Holloway Pack Stories that feature Jem/Sean in the leading role/s so they can be distinguished from those that might not in the future. 🙂
      Thanks!

      1. Haha 🙂 I like her in jeans. 😀
        Good to know! And I like the idea that there will be more stories about others in the Holloway Pack too…although I won’t lie, I definitely won’t get sick of Jem and Sean anytime soon. haha
        You’re welcome! 😀

  2. Awesome! I am a huge fan of books written in FPPOV, but it makes ya wonder what the other person is thinking. Great idea to bring it all together and get Sean’s perspective! 🙂

    1. Thanks, Keri. I often write little bits and pieces for secondary characters, too, to give me a chance to get to know them deeper. It’s a great exercise–one that I can now have the chance to share with others. 🙂

  3. Yeah yeah yeah!!! (My Wheeeeeeeeee!)
    I remember the scene well & can not WAIT to read this. Congrats! If my hubby forgets to get me that Kindle for my b-day…

    1. LOL, Terri. Something’s telling me he hadn’t better forget.
      I got one at the weekend, and so far I’m loving it so I’m sure you will too.
      Thanks! 🙂

  4. Thanks, Emma. It certainly is a whirlwind year–in my private life as well as with my writing. I love the cover, too. It’s so apt for the scene it’s depicting. 🙂

    1. I often find it off-putting to have faces on covers because they so often leave me wondering ‘why’ when they look nothing like what I’d pictured (with the exception of the black dagger brotherhook covers on the ones I ordered). So I’m much happier with covers that still leave enough to the readers imagination.
      Thanks, Kastil 🙂

Comments are closed.