FINALLY … I CELEBRATED!


Yay!

After my book launch celebration–originally planned for 8th July–had to be cancelled due to pretty awful unforseen circumstances (can see why HERE), I FINALLY got out to celebrate last night, and I had a great time.

Not one for big social functions or majorly being the centre of attention, I invited some folk to come join me for dinner at Sheldon Hall.

Due to the size of the party, we were given a little curtained-off cove to sit in (maybe they took one look at us and thought we would disturb their other diners?????), and so we had our own private space–which was lucky as we had one or kiddies there who like to wander around. (That bottom right hand window was our room.)

My sister-in-law bought me flowers.

Um … yeah … ignore the demonic glint in my eyes. It. Was. The. Flash!

And we had a lovely dinner.

Clockwise (from the tiny ginger person who happens to be my neice). Karys, my bestest friend Carla (who is forced to listen to me reading 1st draft scenes), our friend Anna (unintentionally hiding), Dawn (one of my beta readers and an awesome ego booster with her gushing praise), Phoebe (another niece), one of my mini-me’s (Bethyn), Carla’s gorgeous teenage daughter Zoe (who made me wait for her to smile winningly for the camera and refused me permission to post the side shot I had of her), and just to her side (if you squint) is Mr B’s arm.

Let’s go clockwise again. Starting with the OTHER Mr B (my brother-in-law miscreant responsible for the last celebration being called off–note the crutches he’s clinging to), his wife Kellie, that tiny ginger person again (Karys), the back of my other mini-me (Nevyn), and Kellie’s sister Michelle.

After a delish roast dinner, we had dessert. Most of us had ice cream (that we helped ourselves to from the machine–Mr B had 3 blooming bowlfuls ::stare::), but Anna had trifle as presented by Carla’s hand. This picture is all for your benefit, Aimee Laine.

And after dinner, we went outside where it was cooler, and the kiddiwinks dossed about. Left-to-right: Dawn, Anna, Carla, Mr B, Yours Truly, the other Mr B and his Mrs B–and below are a couple of posing kids in the path (guess which on of them’s mine)

So … yeah, we had fun. How about you? How do you like to celebrate?

26 thoughts on “FINALLY … I CELEBRATED!

  1. I’m so glad you finally got to celebrate your book launch, and that your brother-in-law seems to be on his way to recovering.

    Some of the best celebrations we’ve had have been hastily-organised get-togethers at home. Some wine, finger food, and the odd board game or two 😉

  2. Damn it! I wasn’t hiding well enough 😦 Good night though, even if it does look like a rogues gallery 😀 lol xxx

    1. Oh I don’t know. The anticipation is all part of the fun for me, and while I don’t have bad moods often, I can be pretty protective of them. People trying to get me to have a good time when I don’t feel like makes me feel all petty and immature. :-p

  3. Not necessarily due to gender. My wife can be the same sometimes. 🙂

    I think it’s more that it can take such a lot to put me in a truly bad mood, that it’s not something I can easily push aside until I’ve had some time to let off some steam or just be on my own for a bit, you know? I don’t usually get into a bad mood over small stuff. Life’s too short for that!

    1. Or maybe it’s just that I’m not a naturally sociable person and so it takes a lot for me to be pumped to go out? I don’t do bad moods very often ever. And when they arrive, they depart just as fast. But then I agree, so many argue or grouch over such irrelevant stuff when there’s plenty to be happy about. 🙂

  4. Sheldon Hall looks lovely 🙂 What a great place to celebrate in 🙂 Nice to put a face to Mr. B, the BIL and the crutches, hehe 🙂 We’ve heard so much about them 🙂

    Looks like everyone had a wonderful time, and especially you. You’re grinning like the Cheshire Cat 🙂

  5. Aw, you guys look so happy! What a great bunch of family and friends. I’m glad this one went well. BiL looks like he’s doing very well. Congrats!

  6. Yeah! Yeah! Yeah!! What fun and to have your family around is awesome and the kids are crazy (but aren’t they all?) and just Yeah!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

    (and ha! on that pic of the Trifle. LOL)

  7. By the look of the pictures, it was a smashing success! Congratulations on the party and the book. Well deserved!! (and very glad your BIL is getting better.. crutches are always better than the alternative ..

    Sheryl

    (ps. now the comment line shows up for me!!! LOL)

  8. Aww, what a nice looking group. ::Sigh:: Sheldon Hall looks so …English. 🙂 Congrats! You deserved a sweet time of celebration.

  9. Looks like you had a great time. Very happy for you. Wish you all the best with this novel and those in the future. Beautiful building you got to have your celebration in. I’m jealous. 🙂

    1. Thanks, Denna. Yeah, the building is gorgeous–we were looking at older pictures of it on the internet before we left–they renovated it really close to the original arcitecture. 🙂

Comments are closed.