JUDGE JULIE!!!!


Chortle.

In case you’re wondering, Judge Julie is ME. Ha!

Why? you ask.

Well, there is a challenge afoot and … well … someone needs to keep the participants in line.

When two of my writer friends, Jocelyn Adams and Aimee Laine, boldly and publicly challenged each other in a race to the finish line in writing their current NiP’s the fighting talk commenced between the deadly duo.

Of course, they asked me to participate, but thanks to the edits due Book #2 of the Holloway Pack Stories (and the fact I type at, like, half the speed they do), I politely declined …

BUT a judge was still needed.

So … as judge (chortle) I get to make up some rules.

1)       The author canNOT write garbage. Each and every word must be relevant. No waffling (who d’you think you are? Me?)!

2)       You must both post your current word count in the comments section of this blog post, as well as your intended/estimated goal.

3)       You may each use whatever distraction techniques you deem necessary to give yourselves an advantage.

4)       You may toss complains my way about your challenger’s stalling methods, but you may NOT ask me to step in and mediate on them. I fully intend to remain impartial.

5)       Once you have written a bone fide conclusion to your novel, you will send the finished article to me via e-mail. I will check the word count, and I will also skim through to validate that you haven’t written garbage and that you have a worthy ending.

6)       Whoever sends me their finished novel first AND has me declare it a worthy product will be announced the winner!

7)       The winner will get to revel in their greatness in whatever way they choose.

8)       The loser will be expected to a) write a blog post bowing to the brilliance of the winner, and b) send chocolate (weighing no less than 100grams) to the winner.

RIGHT … LET THE GAMES COMMENCE!

What a great motivational tool this could turn out to be, eh? What ideas have you come up with to spur your fingers into action?

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Keri Lake on July 24, 2011 - 5:00 pm

    Hahaha! Good luck to you Julie….getting between 2 determined women is incredibly brave. :-) Looking forward to finding out who wins!

  2. #2 by jabelfield on July 24, 2011 - 5:03 pm

    Ha! I’m sure I can keep ‘em in check. :) Thanks, though–I’ll take the luck just in case.

  3. #3 by Kastil on July 24, 2011 - 6:03 pm

    LOL. Glad I’m not in that group. I’m too wishy-washy.

  4. #4 by jabelfield on July 24, 2011 - 6:06 pm

    Hehehehe :)

  5. #5 by Jo on July 24, 2011 - 6:07 pm

    Oh yeah, this is so on ::rubs hands together, cracks knuckles:: Let the fingers fly!

    • #6 by jabelfield on July 24, 2011 - 6:12 pm

      Remind me off your current and projected word count, Jo.

  6. #7 by Aimee Laine on July 24, 2011 - 7:15 pm

    I am soooooo in! Current WIP wordcount = 40,304 with a 90,000 word completion estimate. :)

  7. #8 by jabelfield on July 24, 2011 - 7:18 pm

    Thank you for following the rules, ma’am. (chortle) :)

  8. #9 by Phillip Morton (pen name Pip Morgan) on July 24, 2011 - 7:19 pm

    If they had chosen a male to judge, I think any sane man would have refused. No man on earth would be that brave. Good look to you both, it is hard to judge who is going to win, I just wish you both lot’s of luck.
    Pip

    • #10 by jabelfield on July 24, 2011 - 7:23 pm

      Hehehehe, people are telling me I’m brave but I’m safe in the knowledge that they can’t physically harm me without flying over here first, which would give me a big enough window to change my name, get plastic surgery and vanish. ;)

  9. #11 by Mr Jocelyn Adams on July 24, 2011 - 9:18 pm

    Aimee, for the right price, I can distract her too. :)

    • #12 by jabelfield on July 24, 2011 - 9:29 pm

      Hahahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa Does she *know* you’ve posted this Mr Adams? Hehehehehe :)

  10. #13 by Aimee Laine on July 24, 2011 - 9:34 pm

    Ooooooooooooh! An inside perspective!!! Hmmmm… now what is the right price?? ::tapscheekinthought::

  11. #14 by Jo on July 24, 2011 - 9:56 pm

    Oh, hell! No, I did not know he’d posted. Gah! Can’t even trust the ones in my own house!!!!!
    Current word count is 51,000, on my way to 95,000, and the muse hasn’t even broken a sweat. Take that and stick it in your type-writer, Ms. Laine! Ha! :D

  12. #15 by jabelfield on July 24, 2011 - 10:00 pm

    Oooooh, I predict a true fight for the finish line in the near future. ‘Tiis fighting talk, for sure.

  13. #16 by Jo on July 24, 2011 - 10:08 pm

    Okay, so what’s the price? He’s already trying to distract me. Someone’s a gonna get a hurt reeeeeeeal bad. I’m not a gonna say who ….. :) (Hubby’ll get the reference, if nobody else does) :D

  14. #17 by PaulineLouise on July 24, 2011 - 11:50 pm

    I’m not to sure about the ‘no waffling’ rule. Every piece needs a line of ‘wafflement’ here and there. It adds a measure of ‘now where were we.’

    • #18 by jabelfield on July 25, 2011 - 10:11 am

      One rule for one, and one rule for another. Only I am allowed to waffle in my work, Pauline. I expect higher standards from everyone else. Ha!

  15. #19 by Mr Jocelyn Adams on July 24, 2011 - 11:57 pm

    For those of you unfamiliar with the comedy of Russel Peters, treat yourself! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yVcePxjFujs&feature=player_detailpage#t=158s

    • #20 by jabelfield on July 25, 2011 - 10:12 am

      Hahahahah! Now I *get* Jo’s comment hehehehe :)

  16. #21 by Jo on July 25, 2011 - 1:43 am

    All righty, I’m at 53,000 words, wrapped up chapter 16 and need some time to ponder Lila’s next torture … I mean move. :) She’s growing up. ::sniff sniff:: Our Lila is growing into her queendom.

    • #22 by jabelfield on July 25, 2011 - 10:13 am

      This is gonna be one tight contest me thinks :)

  17. #23 by Kastil on July 25, 2011 - 3:03 am

    mmm…. waffles….

  18. #25 by Aimee Laine on July 25, 2011 - 1:29 pm

    Kastil, that’s not fair! That’s called a distraction. Now I’m gonna be thinking food when I need to be stretching my finger muscles for another 7000 word day! :)

  19. #26 by Aimee Laine on July 26, 2011 - 2:51 pm

    So, Jo’s at 56k and I’m at 50k? Looks lik we both have right around 40k to go to hit our goals.

    All best are on!!

  20. #27 by jabelfield on July 26, 2011 - 2:54 pm

    Yep, I’m not surprised you’re now neck-and-neck’ing. :o)

  1. And the winner is … « The Scribbles of Joce Adams
  2. Aimee Laine » Hear ye, Hear ye: {Cue the trumpets} — Jocelyn Adams is …

Please feel free to comment. :o)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,665 other followers