FROM SOLIHULL (UK) TO MICHIGAN (USA)!


When I announced a couple weeks ago that the bookmarks my publisher ordered for Darkness & Light had arrived by squealing about it on Twitter, within minutes I received a DM (Direct Message to those who aren’t Twitterers) from the lovely Keri Lake (pssst, check out her blog, she sometimes says useful stuff).

Keri reckoned the guy who ran the local coffee shop would be willing to showcase some of my bookmarks on the counter of his shop, and would I like her to ask him?

Um … HELL, YES!

Obviously, I was a little more refined than that when I responded to her (didn’t want to scare her away and have her think I’m some kind of lunatic, right?).

So, off she trotted to see ‘Don’ at Caribou Coffee, in Novi, Michigan, and quite possibly flashed him one of her winning smiles, and … he agreed.

Wheeeeeeeeeeeee!

Not only that, but he asked Keri if I’d be willing to head over to his coffee shop to do a book signing, too.

Would have been an awesome place to hold one—if not for the number-some miles separating me from there. But how generous was that?

Of course, Keri explained to him that I was in the UK, and it would be a little far for me to go, but he was still happy to have my bookmarks on his counter.

So, I shipped some off. Keri sent me a DM around 6 days later that went like this:

They came!!! Whooohooo!! *Mesmerized by their awesomeness* Will drop these off to the coffee shop tomorrow morning and will check back!

And then the next DM told me they’d been delivered and that the AWESOME Don also allowed Keri to hold up his queue of patrons, especially so she could take a photo of him holding one of my bookmarks to send to me. He even gave permission for me to publish it on my blog.

So, I give you:

The amazing and generous Don of Caribou Coffee.

How cool is that?

You can find Don and his coffee AND MY BOOKMARKS, on Grand River Avenue in Novi, Michigan.

If you happen to be in the area, then be sure to drop in to sample his wares for me … and maybe pick up a bookmark (have I milked it enough, yet?).

And if I ever make it to Michigan in the future, Don, I shall be paying you a visit to thank you in person.

Now … what other cool and awesome places could I get some of my bookmarks displayed? Any suggestions, anyone?

Whilst I have you here, may I just take a moment to remind you of the contest that’s still running on J. Taylor Publishing to win a set of signed bookmarks (including a Darkness & Light one). The contest is free. All you have to do is answer a (very easy) question. So, if you haven’t already entered, why not hop on over to their Blog? Go on, you know you want to.

12 thoughts on “FROM SOLIHULL (UK) TO MICHIGAN (USA)!

  1. Ok…I’m seriously not just saying this because you included me in this blogpost but…..you R.O.C.K!!!! And ya know I’m gonna tweet this all over the place, right?! Lol
    Sincerely, thank you for your kind words. I like to show support for fabulous writers 🙂 will be sure to direct Don to this blogpost as well!

    1. You are a lady through and through, Keri. 🙂 I can’t thank you enough for your support. 🙂 And … Tweet away … hehehehehehe :):):)

  2. I am an academic librarian and I would like to display some of the bookmarks in the library I run. I would also like to know where I can go to order your books?

    1. Hi, Kelly. Thanks for dropping by my blog. I’d be happy to send some bookmarks, and Darkness & Light will be available 1st July. It can be ordered from Amazon, Barnes & Noble, or should be available on request from most bookstores.
      Thanks 🙂

    2. Your email is recorded from when you posted, Kelly. Would it be acceptable for me to contact you that way, for an address to send the bookmarks to?

  3. Those kind little gestures of others just make your day, don’t they? Awesome. You rock, Don! And Keri!

Comments are closed.