TIME MANAGEMENT


As you all know (and if you don’t, why not?) I signed my first publishing contract a week ago today, and DARKNESS & LIGHT will be (hooray!) published (yippee!) on 1st July 2011 (can you freakin’ believe it?).

 

But one of the hardest things I’ve found to juggle since signing up is my time.

I have a deadline by which to get my final edits in. Yes, check, no problem.

I also have a checklist of what needs doing and by what dates, and so far I’m on top of my game and almost somewhat ahead of schedule. So, yes, check, no problem.

However, to stay on schedule and to get my final edits in, I’ve been neglecting my writing. As I have one NiP, one N(ovella)iP, and one short story in a genre with which I have no clue what I’m doing, it’s hard. Mega hard! A writer can only ignore the urge to write for so long before they start to go a little nuts (okay, more nuts).

So, I realised last night (when I finally cracked and started writing at bedtime—not a good idea when I had the school run this morning) that I am going to have to manage my time a little better.

Sounds simple, right?

Um … not to someone who is pretty haphazard and lives her life in organised chaos.

I’ve never been given deadlines before. I’ve spent my entire life strolling through at my own pace.

But it’s gotta be done.

Publication is definitely happening (wheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!), and that has to come first, but my sanity also needs to be kept as close to the surface as possible … or I’m gonna drown in my own desperation with my fingers twitching and my eyes flitting and my lips mumbling the dialogue my brain’s begging me to write.

So … anyone got any tips? How do you all manage your time? how do you juggle all the stuff you need to get done?

6 thoughts on “TIME MANAGEMENT

  1. So … anyone got any tips? How do you all manage your time? how do you juggle all the stuff you need to get done?
    Power Hours. 1 for editing. 1 for writing. 1 for editing. 1 for housework. 1 for … 🙂 Compartmentalize and focus. It’s the only way.

    Interesting post here … wait ’til you see mine that I wrote and pre-scheduled for today. LOL Ha! I think a few of us are on the same wavelength!

    1. I’m surprised at you, Aimee. I half expected another link to your online stopwatch, chortle. 🙂

      And now I’ll definitely be looking out for your blog post later today. 🙂

  2. Julie, you and I sound very similar in our lifestyles, so I’m paying close attention to your journey.

    Aimee, where’s that post already!!! 😀

Comments are closed.