113 DAYS UNTIL RELEASE


That’s right. I’m holding good on my promise (or threat) to count down the days until the release date of my novel, DARKNESS & LIGHT, and as of today, I have only 113 days left to go.

Since signing the contract, my life has definitely been busier and I’ve made plans I never thought I’d have to make. Yet, I cannot seem to stop grinning like a Cheshire cat.

Plans? you ask. What plans?

One of my biggest concerns for signing with a US publisher was the fact that I could get double taxed. By law, my publisher is required to retain 30% of my royalties to pay the IRS.

Boooooooooooooooooooooooo! Who wants to get taxed twice on the same earnings? Not me, that’s for sure.

With the help of a writer buddy, I found (okay, she found, and forwarded it to me) a blog aimed specifically at UK writers, and on that blog was a post about how to avoid the double taxation.

Wheeeeeeeeeeeeeee! I thought.

Then I realised I needed to pay the US Embassy a visit.

That's where I have to go.

Don’t stress, it’s not as bad as it sounds. I don’t have to make a 12 hour flight to get there. There’s one in London. And, if it means I’ll only get taxed by the UK on my earnings, the VERY long daytrip (3 hours with our coach company) and the measly £20 fare to get there will be more than worth it in the long run.

 

So, coach tickets are booked. I can nudge that little task aside now, until the time comes to make the venture. But in five weeks time, US Embassy here I come.

Next task please.

6 thoughts on “113 DAYS UNTIL RELEASE

  1. So over the moon for you — even if you have to stop at the Embassy. I can’t wait to see D&L on a bookstore shelf here in NY!

    1. Thanks, Rebecca–me either. And going to the Embassy won’t be all bad. Not only will I be able to claim I stood on American soil, but I’m hoping to strike lucky and have some deep-toned dude call me ‘ma’am’ in an American accent. ::sigh:: Small things, eh? 🙂

  2. Not only will I be able to claim I stood on American soil, but I’m hoping to strike lucky and have some deep-toned dude call me ‘ma’am’ in an American accent. ::sigh:: Small things, eh?

    You did NOT just say that. LOL O.M.G. If you want some dude to say ‘ma’am’ to you, we’ll Skype and I’ll let Ron say ‘hi’. 🙂 Since my microphone doesn’t work for my voice, it’ll pick up his. 😉 Ha!

    1. Why is it whenever I say what’s in my head, you say: OMG, you did NOT just say that? Hahahahahahahaa 🙂
      I’m waiting on my personal plane trip, and then Ron can ma’am me the entire journey. 😛

Comments are closed.