HERE’S TO 2011!


When I first started writing, a little over 18 months ago, it was merely to pass the bored hours of time when home alone.  Not for one minute did I expect it to become a hobby, which evolved into a passion … that spiralled into what can only be described as downright obsession.

I live, breathe, sleep my characters and writing.  To be without that release of putting into words what happens inside my head leaves my appendages twitching and my mind on the verge of implosion.

When I first started writing, it was only for me.

That’s no longer the case.

Yes, the stories are mine.  I write what I want to write.  I write how I want to write.

But … when you’ve taken that incredibly terrifying step of putting your work out there (in my case, through critiquing/writers sites and beta readers), and people you don’t even know feel passionate enough about something you’ve written to let you know, to encourage you to write more, to beg for further material to read … when they fall in love with characters you’ve created … I’ve never been on such a high.

I left school with enough qualifications to get me a basic job that didn’t require I be trained in specific areas.  I left school with no idea of what I wanted to do, or what I wanted to be.  Twenty years on, I still hadn’t found my way, still hadn’t discovered my niche, and so had never aspired to be anything that was purely for me … until I discovered writing.

Now I want something from my life.  To know what that is fills me such satisfaction.  For the first time in my life I have set myself goals.

And those goals have not been set merely to please myself.  They are also in place for all the people who have read my work and beg me to pursue getting it my novels into print, simply because they want a hard copy of a story they connected with and loved reading.  Can you possibly imagine how inspiring that is?

So … for them as much as for myself, 2011 will see my work in print, even if I have to do it myself.

Personal goals?

Spring: By the end of spring, I hope to have a decent draft of my latest WIP ready for final edits.  I also intend to have my novella ANIMAL ATTRACTION published in ebook format and available for purchase.

Summer: By the end of summer, if DARKNESS AND LIGHT has not been picked up by an agent, or publisher, then I will be rolling the ball on self-publishing it myself in paperback.  Of course, the huge generosity of a local artist who read my novel and immediately set about creating artwork inspired by my characters has a lot to do with making the self-pubbing route easier, because I now know I have artwork for a cover when/if the time comes–because this lady has offered me the artwork to use at will, and almost made me cry (happy tears) when I found out about her covert sketching.

Autumn: Dependent upon the success of DARKNESS AND LIGHT, BLUE MOON may very well follow fairly closely behind, and the artwork for the cover and fine toothed comb edits will take place to put this one on the shelves alongside the first in the series.

Winter: Oh, come on.  Don’t you think I’d deserve to put my feet up by then?  Okay, okay, there’s a huge chance I’ll be polishing the third novel in the series, or even writing a fourth.

What’s your goals for the new year?  You must have some/a few/hoards.  Wanna share?

Happy New year to you all!

10 thoughts on “HERE’S TO 2011!

  1. Me? Goals? Not one … 5! 😉 Ha! Actually my only real goal is to write my YA trilogy. I want to add a 2nd story to the LWL series and create a new adult story series. But all that is dependent on my muse.

    Aside from that, I’m with you on the publishing. Little White Lies will find itself in print THIS year either with me or the publisher who currently holds my MS in their hands.

    Then, of course, there is this ‘other’ project I’m working on … but it has not finite goal yet. 🙂

  2. A second story to LWL? How many do you plan on the series having? Or are you simply planning to see where they head and stop when it feels right?
    I can’t wait to see LWL in print. It’s such a cool read, and the characters are pretty neat, too 🙂 Good for you!

  3. Three in each — but, as you know, not sequels, rather series. The 2nd book is Cael and Lily’s story. 🙂 I’ve had it in my head for a little while. 🙂

  4. OMG! That makes the third about James and … and … and … (sorry, can’t bring myself to say her name–dontcha know James is mine, all mine, I tell ya) 😛

  5. My goal is to go ahead and self-publish then take my promotions straight to the people who will end up buying it anyway.

    Also, lose thirty pounds run a marathon, and….

    Okay, I wasn’t serious about the last two, but I do aim to self publish.

    I will let you know when I do.

    Good luck to you and you goals. However you get published, let me know. I would love to own a copy.

    Tim

  6. Yes, Tim, please do let me know when you self-pub. It seems that route is becoming a bigger and better option lately. So many are doing it, and some very succesfully. I read a blog recently for a writer who self-pubbed, and she has surpassed many known authors in her ebook sales. The industry is evolving.
    Thanks for the encouragement. And don’t worry. I will announce when I place my book out there. 🙂

  7. Ah, Julie, I AM going to find an agent and then a publisher for In the Shadow of the Dragon King. There is no “well, if I don’t find one” attitude. I AM going to find an agent and a publisher.

    I am writing on the 2nd novel and starting on the 3rd and final novel in the Chronicles of Fallhollow series. I have been approached to do more content editing for additional anthologies and if all works out like I hope and pray, I may be working for a magazine soon. Keep fingers crossed.

    No matter how I look at it, I’m going to be writing and editing this year. Following my passions. This feels like a spectacular year for me and I pray it will be for you, too.

    I’m stoked about your artist friend. That is awesome you have someone to do your artwork.

    Here’s to 2011 and all authors determined to have their works published!

    1. Jen, you always have such kind words that encourage.
      I’m so glad your editing business is taking off for you–that’s just awesome. Maybe professional editing is something I should think about saving up for now my artwork’s covered :). And the magazine job will bring only goodness in your career, so I’ll keep any free appendages crossed for you on that one.
      “Here’s to 2011 and all authors determined to have their works published!”
      Hear, hear! 🙂

  8. Wonderful goals. I love that the gates have fallen down. Before it was if you can’t find an agent/publisher, you had no little of seeing your work out in the public. With the technology available folks can have the attitude “2011 will see my work in print, even if I have to do it myself.” Let the readers decide if your work belongs out there. 🙂

    BTW, I nominated you for the Lovely Blog Award: http://reenajacobs.com/blog/2011/01/blog-awards-and-day-2-winners/

    Happy Blogging!
    Reena

Comments are closed.