MUST … MAKE … IT … BETTER …


I once mentioned in an earlier post the constant vicious circle that encompasses the life of a writer. We write; we edit; we write; we edit; we (re)write; we edit; we edit; we edit … You get the idea, right?
Why do we do this?
No matter how many times a writer reads through their own work, they will always find at least one word they believe could be made better, that could be altered to better represent the intention of the sentence, or the surrounding paragraph or scene—always! I defy anyone to disagree with this.
So why do we stop?
Because we have to stop sometime, right? Or we’ll end up killing it beyond recognition.
But how do we know when to stop? When do we decide, ‘okay, I’m happy with this baby’? Or are we ever happy?
Do published authors ever send books out with that tiny niggle in the back of their minds that they could have made that scene have a little more impact, or damn that line just isn’t sitting straight but they can’t figure out why?
Because we’re only human, at the end of the day. The world is not perfect. Nor is everything in it. We may strive, as a race, for perfection on a daily basis, but how often do we believe we’ve achieved it?
Me? I just try my best. Yes, I’ve had those niggles, come across lines in my work that I’ve struggled to ‘fix’ but I’ve just done what I could, made them the best I could. At the end of the day, when I know that I have given 100% consideration to each and every sentence in my work even at first draft, then I know I have given it my all. That’s all I can ask of myself.
How about you? Do you know when to stop and accept that you’ve reached your best efforts?

4 thoughts on “MUST … MAKE … IT … BETTER …

  1. Ha! 😀
    But you may actually have a point, Aimee. Even books/stories that should remain dead and buried get dragged out from beneath their rocks when enough time has passed, and the writers stares longingly down at them and thinks, ‘Maybe, just maybe, I can make this beauty work after all’–because we just hate the idea of throwing in the towel. It’d ingrained into us to succeed in creating a great piece of writing. We want it to be the best we can get it, dammit.
    And if it isn’t, or you don’t? Then your heart ain’t in it 🙂

Comments are closed.