My Favourite Reads of 2013


So, as I’ve now had a chance to breathe since the New Year began, I figured this was as good a time as any to reflect on my favourite books of 2013, as well as some of the books I hope to get to read in 2014.

Maybe some of the same titles got woven into your own minds. And maybe, some of them made your top picks, too.

Ready? Check ‘em out:

Top 10: Favourite Books of 2013

Crash into You by Katie McGarry

LOVE this entire series, but I think Isaiah may even have knocked Noah off the top spot of awesome in the Book Boyfriend realm

Spirit by Brigid Kemmerer

This series is DA BOMB! Seriously. And I had such a tough time choosing between this and the soon to be released Secret (I had an ARC), but Spirit had so many feels for me that it just squeezed past Secret to nip the lead

Faking It by Cora Carmack

Another series I luuuurve, but this was a humdinger of gorgeousness, and Cade is swoon-worthy, for sure

Made of Stars by Kelley York

I totally fell in love with this author’s writing after (finally) reading Hushed, and Made of Stars is definitely all that and then some. Check her out.

Wild Cards by Simone Elkeles

I’m late to the party and had never read anything by this author before, but then I got an ARC, I was in a reading slump, and this seemed as good a book as any to try to pull me out of it. Which it did. It took me a day to read. And when a book can draw me in that fast and hard when my brain is struggling to connect with every other book around it, then I KNOW it’s gotta be a corker.

Soul Resurrected by Keri Lake

Man, I love this series. And other than that, do I really need to say any more than ‘Logan!’. *sigh* I love this dude.

Perry Road by Emi Gayle

I love a good dystopian. Add to that, a realistic bent on the genre, and an author who isn’t afraid to release her inhibitions and tell it like it is, and you have Perry Road. It’s original and unique, yet still owns the dystopian themes with vigour.

 Ink by Amanda Sun

Another book I have a whole lot of feels for, but for a whole other set of reasons. Sun has uniqueness, haunting storyline, memorable characters, great development, original-to-me mythology, cultural education, and a bitter-sweet romance. This is easily my most memorable read of 2013, as every time I see it mentioned, I simply sit here and sigh.

The Summer I Became a Nerd

The! Cutest! Book! of the Year! Hands down!

It’s quirky, it’s fun, it’s dorky, it’s romantic, and it’s inspiring. A great read, for sure.

The Debt Collector (Season One) by Susan Kaye Quinn

This was my FIRST foray into futuristic noir, and I LOVED this first Debt Collector season, which was released in mini installments over a few months.

On top of that, I fell head of heels for the MC, Lirium.

Oh, and if that’s not enough, the fact I bought every episode for my Kindle, and then bought the entire collection in print, and am now grinning in glee because the author gifted me the audiobook this week–well, that should tell you my thoughts on this one, right? Check it out.

Of course, there are all in no particular order, as I loved them all so much, I couldn’t possibly choose a Number 1.

And on top of these, I have some honorary mentions: Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi; Tremble by Jus Accardo; Icons by Margaret Stohl; Iced by Karen Marie Moning

And onto …

Top 10: Books I hope to Read in 2014

The Hallowed Ones by Laura Bickle

Through the Ever Night by Veronica Rossi

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas

Monument 14 by Emmy Laybourne

Angel by L.A. Weatherly

Starcrossed  by Josephine Angelini

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

Perfect Chemistry by Simone Elkeles

Shatter Me by Taheri Mafi

The Taken by Vicki Petersson

All of the these choices are titles I already own (amongst the 60+ print and the 200+ ebooks), which I’ve yet to find time to pick up. So none of these include all of the series’ books I’m looking forward to, such as Brigid Kemmerer’s Sacrifice, Jennifer L. Armentrout’s Opposition, Bullet by Jonathan Lister, plus a whole load more.

So, what books have you loved in 2013, and which ones are you eager to get your paws on?

  1. #1 by Emi Gayle on January 3, 2014 - 9:06 pm

    Woohoo! Perry Road made your list! ::happy dance::

Please feel free to comment. :o)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,662 other followers