DID YOU HAVE A GOOD EASTER?


You may have noticed (or not, as the case may be) that I wasn’t about very much last week. Well, that’s because we slunk off (we being Me, Mr B & the Mini-Me’s) to the Mother-in-Laws in sunny West Wales (yes, it really was sunny). And we had a pretty awesome week.

No, I didn’t spend every hour of every day slamming out new stories whilst Mr B waited on me hand and foot.

Okay, so he did wait on me hand on foot, but that was only on the understanding I kept my nose out of the laptop and in my head in the real world for a while.

The thing with Mr B is, his idea of ‘keeping my head out of my virtual worlds’ usually involves coastal walks and whatnot. So whilst I did have a totally relaxing week and take in some amazing views, I also exhausted myself (do you people KNOW how many hills there are in Wales?????? O_o). And because said ‘amazing views’ were exactly that, I figured they’d be a good introduction back into the land of the living (or back into blogging after a taking a break). So here are some pics of my (our) week:

Oh, yes, our first day there, and the kidlets decide they ‘don’t wanna come and can’t they just stay with Nan’ when we were going out. Kids, apparently, hit a certain age and suddenly decide their parents ain’t so coolio to be hanging around with no more. *sobs into hanky* Then *rejoices at the prospect of some alone time with Mr B* This is just one of the beaches in Tenby (south beach, I think). Beautiful, no?

After their complaints the first day, we forced cajoled the kids into coming out for some fresh air (whilst failing to mention we’d be taking one of our famous treks along the coast) and Mr B drove us to Manorbier. Above is the spot where we climbed from the car …

… and we trekked past these trees/bushes that had been in a fire and had absolutely nothing to do with the amazing view had I looked to the left but couldn’t seem to stop myself taking a picture of …

… up a hill and round a huge U-turn and then back down the hill on the other side. Yes, those are the Mini-Me’s you see. Yes, this was the calm before the storm of seriously steep climbs just around the corner …

… by this point, we were all puffing and panting and I felt the strain of muscles I’d forgotten I have but *Hallelujah* our destination comes into sight …

… and (wheeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!) we make it to the beach that never seems to have hardly any visitors simply because it’s not accessible by road and barely a soul knows of it’s existence.

Only problem then was we still had to walk all the way back to the car. :|

The next day brought another session of ‘No-kids’ (probably because we’d tired them out the day before) so me and the man snuck off to Milford Haven, where we sat sipping coffee overlooking the mariner. Muchero peacefulness, I have to say.

But then the kidlets realised we’d had way more fun than them and begged to go out so we ended up at Tenby again, where we walked along Tenby North beach (I think), starting at the top of the steps (where I stood to take the pic) …

… aaaaaaaaaall the way around to the other side, where this picture was taken up from behind the museum and art gallery.

And our last day before coming home was spent drinking coffee at Kilgetty before making the walk (yeah *sigh* more walking) from Wiseman’s Bridge to Saundersfoot (not quite sure how the man managed to slip into the pic), where we looked at boats (Mr B has a ‘thing’ for boats) and bought some fudge for my good friend Carla (Carla has a ‘thing’ for fudge), and then made the trek back to the car, where I announced I’d be quite happy to go to bed.

 

So, how about you? Done anything cool during the Easter break?

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Kayleigh {K-Books} (@K__Books) on April 16, 2012 - 9:25 am

    Sounds like you had an awesome time =)
    I’ve been doing uni work. Yeah I know, eww
    lol

    • #2 by jabelfield on April 16, 2012 - 9:26 am

      We did, thanks. And Uni works important–think of the end goal. :)

  2. #3 by Keri Lake on April 16, 2012 - 11:23 am

    Gorgeous pictures! The coffee pic made me a long for my mornings on the deck at our beloved NC beach getaway, watching the fishing boats out on the water. *sigh* Perhaps this summer. Hopefully you’re feeling recharged and ready to write ;) My Easter break was spent counting my blessings.

    • #4 by jabelfield on April 16, 2012 - 11:39 am

      I can imagine. Hope everything’s okay for you, Keri. :)

  3. #5 by Kelly Said on April 16, 2012 - 11:29 am

    Wow! What a fun (if not slightly exhausting) time! What beautiful beaches, too! I find for myself, all that fresh air really helps invigorate the mind. Let’s see, hmm, what did I do over Easter weekend? Oh yes, I remember, just the opposite of you, hahaha! I stayed inside for three days straight working on a certain short story, polishing it for submission. ;)

    • #6 by jabelfield on April 16, 2012 - 11:40 am

      Ah, yes, but did your slogging turn out to be worth it? Hehehe :)

  4. #7 by Kastil on April 16, 2012 - 6:05 pm

    I actually like the burnt tree pick. The gnarled look is striking.

  5. #9 by Jen on April 16, 2012 - 7:32 pm

    Beautiful pics! I may have to add Wales on my bucket list!

    • #10 by jabelfield on April 16, 2012 - 7:35 pm

      You should, Jen. Wales IS beautiful. :)

  6. #11 by emaginette on April 16, 2012 - 9:13 pm

    i think I would have stayed forever. So beautiful, to have slave at your beck and call. Sounds like the perfect holiday. :-)

    • #12 by jabelfield on April 16, 2012 - 9:14 pm

      Certainly was pretty awesome. Thanks for stopping by, Em. :)

  7. #13 by Danielle Smiley on April 17, 2012 - 2:50 am

    Wow! Crazy beautiful pictures! It sounds like an amazing trip. My kids had spring break the week leading up to Easter and my husband took that week as vacation, so we had a wonderful week of family time (my husband works weekends, so family time is pretty limited during the school year) that included hiking, swimming (indoor pool), playing and movie watching. It was a good and much needed break!

    Danielle

    http://knowntoread.blogspot.com/

    • #14 by jabelfield on April 17, 2012 - 10:08 am

      Sounds like you had an abso awesome time, too, Danielle. Yeah, we need those breaks to keep us fresh. :)

  8. #15 by Carole-Ann on April 17, 2012 - 6:30 pm

    It never ceases to amaze me how many ‘undiscovered’ beaches there are in Wales – I’ve seen a few along the Pembroke coast :) Almost similar to some places on the north Cornwall coast. Simply beautiful, nonetheless!

    Carole-Ann

    • #16 by jabelfield on April 17, 2012 - 10:07 pm

      I don’t know the southern coast like I do the west Welsh coast. Love exploring, though. :) Maybe I’ll make it to the south sometime this year. ;)

  9. #17 by juals1 on April 18, 2012 - 1:40 pm

    Well it certainly looked like you enjoyed yourselves. Unfortunately for us, me and my old man that is, are both disabled and wouldn’t get anywhere near hills. But as you said it was definitely beautiful. We seem to enjoy the comfort of our own home now. That, I think comes with age. So we end up not going anywhere. We have plenty of things to keep us busy though, so every day is the same as any other day for us. But I am so glad you shared your easter, and the beautiful pictures with us. I felt like I was there with you, It tired me out just looking at them. I look forward to your next outing. Thanks again for that. :)

    • #18 by jabelfield on April 18, 2012 - 1:47 pm

      Aww, bless you, Julie. You know the company is as important as the venue, anyway, right?

      • #19 by juals1 on April 18, 2012 - 1:53 pm

        Oh you are so right. I think that’s why we are always in as we don’t mind each others company. The only time we have been separated is when one of us is in the hospital. We have had 28 years of being together, and still love each other’s company, so that has to count for something hahahaha But I love seeing other peoples pictures, as it feels like i’m there. Awwwwww I think I need to get out more hahahahaha

  10. #20 by jabelfield on April 18, 2012 - 1:54 pm

    28 years together is awesome! :) And there’s nothing wrong with living vicariously through others. Said by a true readaholic, lol. ;)

Please feel free to comment. :o)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,697 other followers