CHARACTER INTERVIEW: Tripp Fox!


Oh my God! He’s here! I do a freaky hand jig. Tripp Fox is here! I punch the air. On my blog! Tripp Fox! Andhe’s staring at me like I’ve lost the plot.

I send him my sweetest smile. “Hey.”

He nods his head my way saying nothing.

“Thanks for coming today, it’s an absolute pleasure to have you here, and I can’t begin to tell you how happy I am that you’re here and …” I should shut the heck up coz I sound like a moron. My breath erupts past my lips. “If I could have any man, it would be you, Tripp. On my blog. I mean. Yeah. Um … so thanks for coming.” Get on with it already. I deep breathe in, slow exhale out. “Maybe we should get down to your reason for being here?”

“That would be good.” He props a foot up on his knee, his dark blue t-shirt tight across his chest.

My attempt to not stare falls a little short. I order my gaze back to his face. “So … Lexi … you two serious? Like proper together with no chance of breaking up?”

“None. No chance. Nada.”

Damn!

“That would be awfully stupid given everything I went through to get her to marry me, wouldn’t it?” He winks his baby blues at me.

“Yeah … I guess so. Talking of everything you went through … you’re kind of a romantic, eh? For a tough guy.” I practice a wink of my own.

“A romantic?” He turns his head away, a smile creeping onto his lips. “Maybe.”

I laugh. “No maybe about it, babe …”

“Babe?”

I shrug him off as I continue, “I’ll just bet every lady out there would appreciate a little Tripp in her Fox.”

He belts out a laugh that continues with his mirthful smile.

My own lips twitch as I wave back and forth between us. “You see what I just did—meh, forget it. So … about your gifts.”

“What gifts?” His mirth turns rueful.

“You do a bang-up job of hiding. Or sneaking around. Being evasive. And not getting caught.”

“I don’t know what you’re talking about.” His head shakes back and forth slowly but there’s a definite gleam in his eyes.

I smile. “As far as your gift you know nothing of is concerned, in Lexi, you met your match as well as your opposite, wouldn’t you agree?”

“I certainly met my match. I wouldn’t say we’re total opposites.”

 

If you say so … “I’m all for the chalk and cheese when it comes to relationships.”

“Chalk and cheese. Where are you from anyway?”

“Um … England. You like my accent?” I wink. “But, anyway, apart from the whole soul-matey-type connection you guys seemed to have going on, what was it about Lexi that drew your attention that first night on the beach?”

He sits up and leans forward, his hands clasped, expression serious. “Have you ever walked out onto the beach for a breath of fresh air and found a woman in the one spot you love to sit? Because it’s hiding behind some dunes and no one can see you? If someone were in your spot, wouldn’t you have thought there was a reason for it?”

“Yeah, I’d think it was because they’re inconsiderate.” I snort. “I kid, I kid. Let’s just go with the assumption that you think everything through way deeper than I do, eh?” My eyebrow twitches up.

“I usually do.”

I narrow my eyes. He’s jesting with me … right? “Okay, before we go, let’s toss a couple quick Q’s out about what the future may hold for you. Now you’re married, do you visualise yourself settling down?”

“Settling down?” He shakes his head. “No way. I’ve got the crown jewel of opportunities sitting in front of me. I just have to convince Lexi that treasure hunting is safe and ethical. I figure as long as we donate a portion of what we find to … say … the Smithsonian, I’ll convince her.” He winks again.

I let out a sigh. “I guess, Tripp, what I’m really trying to ask is: Will we get to see more of you?”

“Do you want more of me?”

I lick my lips. “Do you even need to as—” My head whips up when the door clicks open to reveal a woman with dark, wavy hair. Lexi. I try not to notice how pretty she is. Though my lips really want to curl, I force them into a smile. “Lexi, right? Don’t worry, we’re nearly done here.” I give my attention to Tripp again. “So … what exactly can we expect from you … two in the future?”

When Tripp holds out his hand, Lexi takes it and manoeuvres in next to him on the opposite seat. “What are you two talking about?”

He turns back to me, a glint in his eyes and a smirk on his lips. “I’m just telling her the story of us.” 

I arch a brow, ordering myself not to growl at their entwining fingers and the way he gazed at her—just for that instant their eyes met—with total adoration and the moulding of her body into his with all the relaxed air of utter familiarity …

“Isn’t that kind of boring?” Lexi asks, drawing me back. “I mean who cares about us?”

 Well … duh … annoying attractive woman … “Everyone, actually,” I say with a smile.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I hope you all enjoyed the interview. For those of you intrigued enough to want to know more, here’s the cover (image is linked to its Goodreads page) and blurb:

(From Goodreads …)

Lie, cheat or steal, no one can catch Tripp Fox. Except one woman.
Lexi Shepherd’s knack for finding whatever is asked of her isn’t sheer luck. It’s a gift from the Greek god Zeus.
That Lexi doesn’t use her ability to search for “Mr. Right” comes from one of many personal rules she has set for herself. Number one is not to let fate dictate her future.
Falling in love with Tripp breaks all the others.
Despite her principles, Lexi’s unable to stay away from the bad boy, and she finds herself toeing the grey line of the law for him.
Zeus, though, didn’t give Lexi and Tripp their talents to make their relationship a simple, easy alliance. He designed it to be exactly the opposite. Impossible. Always.
With their separation, Lexi expects Tripp to forfeit love in favor of destiny. He, on the other hand, intends to beat Zeus at his own game. With a plan in place, Tripp challenges Lexi to take the one action no one else can.
Find him.
The question isn’t can she … but will she?

*Sigh* I so love this book. Okay, in all honesty, I so love Tripp Fox, but trust me: he IS a good enough reason to stick this one on your to-read list.

Thank you all for visiting. You can find out more about Hide & Seek HERE and Aimee Laine on her website, FB page, or Twitter.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Pragya on March 7, 2012 - 9:21 am

    I started reading the post but then realized I should finish the book before reading on. So, I will be back later, Tripp Fox! :D

  2. #3 by Shy on March 7, 2012 - 11:06 am

    Awesome interview. I’m even more in love with Tripp now. I loved this book.

    • #4 by jabelfield on March 7, 2012 - 11:08 am

      Me, too. Thanks for stopping by, Shy. :)

  3. #5 by Aimee Laine on March 7, 2012 - 2:53 pm

    teeheeheeee! Tripp! how did you get out of my head and onto J.A. Belfield’s blog. You naughty, naughty, naughty boy. Oh … yeah … that’s you. ;)

    • #6 by jabelfield on March 7, 2012 - 4:53 pm

      If he wasn’t so naughty, we might not love him so much :P

  4. #7 by emaginette on March 7, 2012 - 4:51 pm

    I love it.

    Well, now this book is on my Must Read list.

    • #8 by jabelfield on March 7, 2012 - 4:52 pm

      You won’t regret picking it up. It’s one of my favourites. :)

  5. #9 by Danielle Smiley on March 9, 2012 - 2:22 am

    You make me laugh! This was great!!!! :)
    Danielle

    http://knowntoread.blogspot.com/

Please feel free to comment. :o)

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,695 other followers